We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Yarm Road, Stockton-on-Tees TS16 ODH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Christmas Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

after experiencing other hotels/restaurants on Christmas Day I must admit my hopes were not that high for this one and to be honest if the meal was as bad as previous ones then I would have chained myself to the kitchen for Christmas 2013, however, the Turkey was moist and the Gravy tasty, the staff were friendly, the vegetables were fresh (following on from Hardwick Hall review who served frozen sprouts ergh) the presentation was excellent. I throughly enjoyed my meal as did my family, there were 5 of us and the age range was from 21 - 72, I will be returning for christmas 2013. Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas Day Lunch with us. We had exceptionally good feedback from everyone on the day, but it's extra nice to see such good written reviews.

We hope that you won't be waiting until Christmas Day 2013 to return, and that we will see you long before then. Please help us by telling all your friends about the excellent experience you had with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    67
    69
    29
    17
See reviews for
34
58
12
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed over 1 night on business. The front of house looks OK, but the rooms meander down soulless dated corridors in a maze like fashion to your bed for the night.

The room was OK apart from being able to hear everything from the rooms next door.

WIFI was free.

I didn't dine and skipped breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We are going through a refurbishment programme, which has been taking longer than we would like, but unfortunately it is a sign of the times. We have now completed well over 50% of the bedrooms, along with all the public areas & Leisure Club, and have another few rooms scheduled in for being done in January.

In future - when you stay, if you prefer to avoid the rooms as the back, ask for a new room at the front of the Hotel.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Before I forget as I am in my twilght years. I must let you know. The atmosphere, room, food & staff were marvelous. one of our BEST years . I did have doubts but I must say The Parkmore exceded all expections. Thank you Becca for all your hard work. But I must say Patricia ensured that "everyone" was looked after in a very professional way and of course never forget the chefs great food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed your Lunch, and we hope that we will welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had an excellent lunch at the restaurant with a party of 10 people. Everyone enjoyed their choices and the food was beautifully presented and served by cheerful staff. I would recommend it. The hotel was well decorated for the festive season and lovely and warm in the spacious dining room. We have been there before for our Xmas lunch but this year it seemed better than ever especially the cheerful and helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal so much, and we look forward to seeing you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Don't get me wrong, everyone is very polite and lovely, however something let's this property down. The room was nice and clean, amd the property is mocely decorated, however I arrived at 930 pm to find only a room service of cold sandwiches is available,not what you want to hear after a 4 hour train journey. Breakfast service was a bit chaotic, polite but very unorganised, with half my table not cleaned from the previous person and as I got back to my room to get changed, room service came walking on at 745am to clean my room.

I think a good operations manager is required to raise the standards, as everybody wants to do well, they just don't seem to know how.

Room Tip: There is little choice in the area, and whilst this isn't a ad choice, it comes with no frills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay, but take your comments on board. We do have an excellent Operations Manager who has recently started with us, and she is working on improving standards in all areas of the Hotel.

I hope that when you come back in the future, you will see an improvement. If you are planning on arriving late next time, if you ring ahead, we can see about arranging a hot meal for you. Thanks you again for your constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Nice when you walk in but decor tired all round, I was put in room that took some finding over the air con and what seemed like on the railway, not a good nights sleep. the room was average but over priced, bathroom scruffy ideal location for a short stay. Still waiting for a reply to my complaint to the duty manager. Not value for money if don't use the pool and jim etc otherwise ok

Room Tip: away from the train lines
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkmoreManagement, Manager at BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you felt you were not satisfied with your room. Had you made your feelings known to the Reception staff during your stay they would have endeavored to move you to an alternative room. I was under the impression that your complaint was dealt with at check out, but will look into the matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, Vermont
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Had doubts but they were squashed at check in. Patricia the receptionist was 'everywhere' to help us. Room was clean, very warm & good. Restaurant service - I have seen better but food fantastic. Leisure facilties great (staff sat chatting all the time career habit seen that before). We will be back.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade. Take your own towel for leisure club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkmoreManagement, Owner at BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your feedback is much appreciated. We hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel

Address: 636 Yarm Road, Stockton-on-Tees TS16 ODH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Stockton-on-Tees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Stockton-on-Tees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally the home of a shipping magnet in the 1800's, this beautiful old house has been tastefully extended to create the current hotel. With 55 bedrooms, a large leisure club, incorporating swimming pool, gym, dance studio to name but a few facilities, as well as 3 function rooms holding up to 120 people, this is a perfect venue for you to stay in when visiting the Teesside / Cleveland area. The Hotel has been refurbished in recent years to give it a more contemporary, modern feel, whilst still keeping & enhancing the original features of the building. Our Restaurant, J's at 636 offers a wide selection of dishes produced using only the best of local produce. Close to major local roads & rail links, and with ample free parking, we are easy to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stockton On Tees

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.