We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It' Tutbury's Finest All Round Solution for Guests” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Dog & Partridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ye Olde Dog & Partridge to your Saves list
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High St, Tutbury DE13 9LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tutbury
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“It' Tutbury's Finest All Round Solution for Guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Dog & Partrdige is a real haven of rest and good service with excellent and varied menus and drinks at affordable prices especially if you are a Londonder. Tutbury itself is a hidden gem where the locality seems to have put out the flags with the Union Jack and the Staffordshire flag everywhere. On this visit we just had drinks and read the newspapers before enjoying some lunchtime snacks but nothing was too much trouble for the young and enthusiastic staff. The dining area is full of discreet areas where you can be as private as you like. Tutbury Castle is for me the star attraction in the town and full of unexpected attractions suich as the operator who dresses up as a previous resident - Mary Queen of Scots from Elizabethan times (but before she lost her head). Don't miss it. There's also ample parking at the rear.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    39
    14
    9
    10
See reviews for
24
48
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Normally I use the d&p for business so I don't take full advantage of the local area. I have always found the staff friendly and helpful.

I stay here regularly and never found any problems. Compared to other B&Bs in the area it is the best. This and it's proximity to nestle makes it difficult to get a reservation at times.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lunch with a friend - we both had a starter with a side of chips! More than adequate for lunch, the chips being particularly good! The lady serving at the bar was very friends and efficient. Will go again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Alice S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for one Saturday night as we were attending an event at nearby Sudbury Hall.
Our bedroom was on the top floor at the front of the building. The room was really spacious and airy and full of character with exposed beams, which thankfully weren't generally too low for my 6'5" partner! The bathroom looked a little tired, could do with some new tiles and grout, but the room on the whole was very clean and comfortable and we had no problems with noise from the street.
We didn't get to use the restaurant unfortunately but wish we had as it looked very pleasant and stylishly decorated.
Having never been to Tutbury before, we found it a very quaint little village; very little there but the hotel is situated on a lovely street where every building is a period property, and very attractive.
We had a 'room only' booking which wasn't a problem as across the road is the Tutbury Tearoom which does lovely breakfasts and with tables on the pavement was a nice place to watch the world go by.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night before going to Alton Towers and is in a lovely location. The inn was lovely, very old with lots of character. The room was lovely, a huge bed lovely fittings and an extra large bathroom. However, there was two small camp bed things for the kids. These were very unstable, squeaky and the kids found them very uncomfortable. At 2 am after hardly any sleep I took the 3 inch thick mattresses off the frames and put them directly on floor and at 3.30 am we were all still awake! The kids were excited about the next day but normally they sleep really well. This did spoil our night as we knew we had a long day ahead.

The inn and restaurant were lovely, service was very good, the kids were given colouring whilst waiting for their meal and we found the cost for food and drinks very reasonable.

The inn is a lovely place to stay and if it had just been my husband and I then it would have been lovely however for the price of £120 I would have expected proper beds for the kids and we did book a "family room" not a double room with camp beds. This was to be a treat as we normally stay in premier inns/holiday inn expresses and I think in future we will be sticking to these so we know what we will be getting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Jane T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear how nice you found the surroundings during your visit, we have shared your feedback with our management team to help improve future experiences.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Not been to Tutbury before, quite interesting, although the Dog And Partridge is the main focus on the high street , the original bit is very old ..."black and white" beaming with lots of quirky nooks and crannies inside , excellent service and my meal was good without being gobsmacking , room had bags of atmosphere clean airey and overlooking the high steet

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Rob L,

Thank you for your review, we will be sharing your feedback with our management team to ensure learnings are taken.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here when visiting Tutbury Castle for a wedding. The pub is a very old place full of character - complete with wonky walls and floors!

The owners were very welcoming and the room was spacious and clean. It was well appointed with all the tea and coffee making facilities, t.v., and such as you would expect, as well as wifi connection which is always useful.

We had a light dinner here on the first night (sides and desserts) and the food was very tasty. I particularly recommend the Salted Caramel Chocolate Torte, which was divine! Breakfast was included in our stay and the cooked breakfast was good. There were also vegetarian breakfasts available and a range of lighter options for those watching their figures.

Another reviewer notes that they found road noise tiresome, however, although our room faced onto the high street I have to say I did not have a problem with this at all. Perhaps if you are a very light sleeper? Tutbury is quite a small town and the high street is not exactly bustling...

I enjoyed our stay here and was sorry to leave so soon, we may well return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ye Olde Dog & Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Dog & Partridge

Address: High St, Tutbury DE13 9LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tutbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tutbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Dog & Partridge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ye Olde Dog & Partridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Dog And Partridge
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge Hotel Tutbury
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge Tutbury, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.