We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I was looking for...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Dog & Partridge

Save Saved
You added Ye Olde Dog & Partridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
High St, Tutbury DE13 9LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tutbury
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just what I was looking for...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

After a chilly day at Uttoxeter races Ye Olde Dog & Partridge was just the experience we were looking for. The welcome was as warm as the log fire, nothing too much trouble. Rooms are finished to a high standard & very comfortable. Supper was delicious. Hats off to the kitchen staff who coped remarkably with high volume of covers, their food clearly a hit with the locals, and rightly so.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Carol J,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Regards
Good Night Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    31
    10
    6
    9
See reviews for
19
37
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Lovely little hotel. The room we had was fantastic very clean and lots of space. Same with the Bathroom. The staff were vey helpful and it was lovely to just sit downstairs in the bar and have a quiet drink. You can also eat within the pub which although we didn't i am told the food is very nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel is dated from the 1400's & is on the main street.We had room 8,which is right at the very top of the hotel.The stairs in places are very very steep and I know it is an old property,but we felt some mention should have been made. We had a lovely welcome and were shown to our room.It was a good size,with a comfy bed.We had to ask for a second set of towels and the tv to be re-tuned,but we could not find the phone,which had been removed.All saying that,they could not have been more helpful. There were adequate tea & coffee facilites.The bathroom was lovely,with a good shower and those jets that squirt out all over your body.The towels were a good size and there was dove toiletries too.
The restaurant is part of the Chef Brewer group and represents good value,quality food.The staff were all very nice and we enjoyed our relaxing time there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear ShrewsburyChefette,

Thank you for your recent review, we are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit to Ye Olde Dog & Partridge.

Your comments have passed to the managment team to ensure our high levels of service are maintained.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Excellent hotel for which I only have the highest praise. There are so many positive aspects to the venue itself as have been been reviewed elsewhere on this site.

In my opinion though the best thing about staying here is the welcome and care from the friendly staff. The managers, Michael and Julie Butler, could not have done more to make us feel at home and welcome. From the moment of check-in to checking out the following day they were both very friendly and welcoming, but also exceedingly professional. The waiting staff at breakfast were efficient and thorough. It was a busy event, as 30 of us from a wedding at the castle the previous day, had all booked for breakfast at the same time. Toast, butter and milk jugs were replenished without having to be asked, orders were taken and delivered with accuracy and speed. Coffee was hot and plentiful and all was served with a smile and cheerful attitude.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenstone, Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my wife and was very happy with every aspect of the room and restaurant. Our room was large and airy with a huge very comfortable bed and was equipped with tea and coffee facilities, a fridge, an iron and ironing board. There was also air conditioning and a large wall mounted TV. The bathroom had a large free standing bath and a very powerful shower. The room is in the older part of the building and there are a few winding stairs to contend with. Only a problem for those unsteady on their feet.

The restaurant had a great menu and the waitress was very attentive and knowledgeable about the hotel and local area. Despite sleeping above the main street in Tutbury their was very little noise and we slept very well. Breakfast was great with a wide variety of cooked and buffet style food and it was served until 10am if you fancy a lie in.

We strongly recommend this hotel for a weekend stay or even longer but there isn't too much to see and do in Tutbury. Overall a beautiful building filled with character, fantastic accommodation, great food and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Room 6 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here after a wedding at the castle. The room was big and well decorated. The lighting was a bit dark and the bathroom a bit shabby but fine apart from that. Not going to grumble at £50 a night. The breakfast wasn't bad either. A bit pricey but reasonable.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

stayed one night, had a warm welcome by all the staff, rooms were immaculate and full of character, it's a beautifull building. The food was excellent, we had a great time

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ye Olde Dog & Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Dog & Partridge

Address: High St, Tutbury DE13 9LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tutbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tutbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ye Olde Dog & Partridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Dog And Partridge
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge Hotel Tutbury
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge Tutbury, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Dog & Partridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.