We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trentham Monkey Forest

Trentham Monkey Forest
Trentham Estate, Stone Road | Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 8AX , England
01782 659845
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monkey Forest is completely unique to the UK. It is the only place that you can walk amongst 140 Barbary macaques roaming free in 60 acres of beautiful English Forest. Walking in the park transports you into a different world through close contact with the monkeys.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Brilliant day, amazing experience, well worth a visit .How nice to see the animals just walking around free

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonkeyForest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review. We really hope to see you again this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    341
    112
    33
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We took two grandchildren aged 6 and nearly 2 for a return visit. They both thoroughly enjoyed their day, from the play equipment, to the restaurant and especially seeing the monkeys close to. The 6 year old was interested in hearing all about the monkeys from the very knowledgeable guide and the 2 year old was just fascinated by the monkeys jumping around in the trees. It is such a lovely location too, in woodland with a stream running through. The restaurant offered a good selection of hot and cold food and there was a large picnic area too, fully equipped with tables and chairs. Looking forward to taking them back in a couple of months to see the new babies.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonkeyForest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic review! We are very happy to hear your grandchildren had such a lovely day out and it’s brilliant that they learnt so much from our knowledgeable guides. Our babies should be arriving soon, normally May-June. We look forward to seeing you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Like walking into a scene from the Jungle Book”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We visited on a Saturday afternoon in early March with friends and a total of 4 small children aged between 18 months and 6. We started with lunch in the cafe. Prices weren't cheap, but they are about what you would pay at pretty much any other attraction and the food was fresh, no soggy lettuce leaves to be found, and of pretty good quality.

The kids then had a few minutes on the playground before we headed off to see the monkeys.

While the forest is technically passable with a buggy, it would be far easier if you do have smaller children to carry them in a sling or babycarrier as we did. Some of the paths aren't the smoothest and some of the inclines are quite steep so it can be hard work pushing a trolley round or for little legs.

The forest itself and seeing the monkeys in that environment was great. I think we were as excited as the children and enjoyed a nice stroll through watching the monkeys in safe and open habitat, even if we did have to explain to one of the children that the monkeys were 'having a hug' at one point.

I'd definitely say this is a good weather day out, blowing a gale and monsoon rain would have put a sever dampener on things, but we all had a lovely time and will no doubt be back again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonkeyForest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We really like your description, ‘like walking into a scene from the jungle book’! We are glad you enjoyed your food at our Cafe; everything from our Banana Cafe is homemade with weekly specials. It is good to hear you made full use of the facilities and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brill day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great interesting day out really good value for money kids loved it nice to see monkeys out in a natural habitat

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonkeyForest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your day out and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Me and my partner visited The Monkey Forest with our 1 year old son. We had a lovely afternoon and got to see more monkeys than we thought. Brilliant to see them walk so close to you and watch them play. We also got to see baby monkeys. Staff were very friendly and happy to answer questions. It's very clean and we got our pushchair round no problem. There's a cafe, picnic area and two play areas there also. Not a full day out but defiantly a nice afternoon out

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for bringing your little monkey to see our little monkeys! I'm glad that you had a lovely afternoon and we hope that you will come and see us again. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trentham Monkey Forest also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Farley, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Trentham Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trentham Monkey Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.