We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trentham Monkey Forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trentham Monkey Forest

Trentham Monkey Forest
Trentham Estate, Stone Road | Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 8AX , England
+44 1782 659845
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monkey Forest is completely unique to the UK. It is the only place that you can walk amongst 140 Barbary macaques roaming free in 60 acres of beautiful English Forest. Walking in the park transports you into a different world through close contact with the monkeys.
Manningtree
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Trentham Monkey Forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Although a cold day when we visited there were several young families visiting. It took approximately and hour to walk the route around the forest to view the monkey's. We visited with out 20 year old daughter who loves monkey's and she loved the fact that they were not behind a screen of any sort. The guides who were by the 2 main feeding areas were very informative and friendly. For the amount of time we were there I feel it entry fee is a bit steep but I can see if you have younger children you could stretch your visit out by having a picnic and playing in the play area. There is a cafe and gift shop to visit also a video about the type of monkey's and how they came to be at Trentham.
I would and have recommended this to friends.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks the positive review. Sounds like you had a really enjoyable experience at Monkey Forest. It's great that you were spoken to by the guides and found them to be informative and friendly. We feel that the entry fee represents good value not just because of the unique opportunity to be surrounded by free roaming monkeys but also for the length of time it takes to visit. We hope that we will welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    374
    135
    39
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“ok if you like monkeys”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Family visit with children.

Nice walk through pleasant grounds. Plenty of monkeys close up.

good picnic area. shop sells usual stuff, obviously monkey based. monkey eraser anyone?

Rained whilst picnicking so that put a dampener on events.

Probably not be somewhere I would go back to.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks for your review of Monkey Forest. I'm glad to read that you were impressed by the tranquil environment the monkeys live in, a great deal of care is taken to ensure that the forest is maintained to look its absolute best. I hope that you will consider visiting us again as there is always something different to see in the forest. The new babies should be arriving within the next few months and the forest will begin to show the signs that spring is on the way with the bluebells and daffodils emerging. Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Day out at the Monkey Forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I took out 3 year old daughter as we had a voucher for a free Child via an offer in the Daily Telegraph.

We paid £15 for my Wife and I, but were only in the Forest for a couple of hours (including a a visit to the Shop), so felt that the price was high for the actual time that the attraction realistically takes - bearing in mind it takes linger when with a small child, adults could easily 'do' the attraction within an hour. I accept that I don't know the cost of running such an attraction, but wonder if halving prices may double crowds, which in turn leads to an increase in revenue in the shop, however, as I said i don't know the costs involved.

To their credit, the Staff are helpful and very knowledgeable. I learned a lot about the Monkey's, and there are plenty of Question Boards on the Path.

With exception of the slightly high entry cost, a good attraction to visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience of Trentham Monkey Forest. We love to read customer reviews and find the feedback invaluable. I'm glad that you left with a positive image of our staff as we continually strive to give exceptional customer service. We feel the cost of the attraction represents good value for the unique chance to be surrounded by this unique and endangered species. We are committed to the conservation of the Barbary macaque and by visiting our customers are helping to raise the profile of the plight of these fascinating monkeys. We hope that you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsagers Bank
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A day out with childen.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very good day out. Do not take any food with you. The children and adults alike will realy enjoy this monkey forest. Its a way to the car park so take umbrellas we got very wet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm delighted to hear that you had a great time with us even if it did mean getting wet! The Trentham Estate Southern car park is located just next to the Monkey Forest with the walk around the forest being 3/4 mile long. If you parked at the Northern car park it is a bit of a walk. It's true that we don't allow customers to take food into the enclosure with the monkeys but customers are always welcome to leave picnics with our kiosk staff or on busy days at the gate entrance to the enclosure. We hope that you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Monkey Forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great family day out, the staff are very helpful and informative.At present there are a few young young monkeys in each group who are very playful to watch. Ideal for children and adults!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monkeyforest, Manager at Trentham Monkey Forest, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for your review. We love to get customer feedback and it was nice to hear that you enjoyed watching the youngsters play. Babies are born in the late Spring/early Summer but throughout the year the 1 and 2 year old's are playfully discovering their woodland home. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trentham Monkey Forest also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Farley, Staffordshire
 

Been to Trentham Monkey Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trentham Monkey Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.