We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cooking at a quality restaurant, how wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thalii

Thalii
Thalii | 38 Kingsway, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 1JH, England
+44 1782 411800
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $19 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani, Halal
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Home cooking at a quality restaurant, how wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We are a punjabi family who enjoy this cuisine. Having tried this food we can honestly say that it was as good as home cooked food. The choice of vegetarian and meat dishes is about right. The food tasted wonderful with not overbearing chillies. You could tell that a lot of thought has been taken to every detail. The concept of the Thalii means that we could all share each other's dishes as a family and this is the punjabi way to eat. The restaurant has a family atmosphere and this type of restaurant has been long overdue in stoke on Trent. We enjoyed the meal and definately recommend to all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    26
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Decided to go here after seeing the reviews on tripadvisor and was not disappointed.

We were seated straight away and one of the waiters sat with us to explain the concept and menu.

Once ordered, we were told that one of the chefs had burnt themselves so there might be a small delay, but we were given some complimentary snacks to nibble on in the meantime.

We ordered a medium size thali each which was more than enough food. The food itself was excellent and tasted genuinely authentic. We treated ourselves to some ice cream sundaes, and would certainly recommend the butterscotch ice cream.

All in all a great evening. Excellent food and service. The staff are very attentive and friendly. You probably end up paying slightly more than a regular local curry house, but it's definitely worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Freshly home made food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We all thoroughly enjoyed it, great food. Lovely atmosphere n very helpful staff. Looking forward to visiting again. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovey Meal & Kind Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The restaurant itself is very cosy and has great decor.
Staff were very kind and attentive..
Food was delicious and flavoursome
Definitely will be going again.. Even if it is just to eat the ice-cream again
Price is very reasonable and definitely priced right









Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The staff are friendly, can't do enough for you, the food is cooked fresh and tastes great. If you are looking for authentic Indian food that you know is made with fresh ingredients served in an unique way this is the place! We will be back, thank you!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thalii also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Thalii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thalii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.