We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Man in Space

The Man in Space
New Inn Lane, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 8PZ, England
+(44)01782 657104
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 399 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Cuisines: British, Brew Pub, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Last night 4 of us met for food and drinks and a catch up at the man in space.
On entering the pub it was very busy and noone to show us to a seat or help which was a little dissapointing but it was in fairness immensely business with 2 birthday groups. Which did reflect in the wait for the food but totally understandable (it was packed :D)

The menu choice was very good, the drinks were very impressive (especially mine which were £1 per pint! =))

The starter (Prawn cocktail)...dissapointing and really took the shine off the evening. It was just a bowl of prawns, no dressing on them really. Such a shame as the rest of the evening was excellent.

The main (sausage and mash) was beautiful. Very tasty. Very well priced and I fully enjoyed it.

The bar area was very friendly, the staff very friendly and very quick service.

Would return again soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
1 review
“Dana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great improvment since new manager Mike arrived
Vast improvement all round .service is betterand general atmosphere is great. Mike is doing a great job. Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on trent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A local who would like to thank mike and his team for the hardwork to improve the standards!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

As a local person living in trentham,I've seen the last 3 manages come and go. But would like to welcome mike to join his team members to help improve the famous local in trentham "THE MAN IN SPACE" as he joined them in late November we have seen a mast improvement ,clean tables,menus, more of a welcome and goodbye off the staff ,a selection of entertainment over the coming months planned an overall on the up well done mike and the team keep up the good work I'm sure we will see more as time go on!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loyal Customer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

After reading the recent comments below I would just like to add some comments of my own. We go to the Man in Space several times a week, sometimes just for a drink but the majority of the times for something to eat. The pub has a lovely friendly atmosphere and very often we take family and friends with us who all comment on what a nice local it is to have. There is a wide choice of menu and it is value for money. Service is always with a smile and the staff can't do enough for you.

Since Mike has been manager we have seen some improvements particularly in the cleanliness.

It is nice to see that there are some nights planned with entertainment which always guarantee a great night out.

Keep up the good work Mike.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Use to be a regular visitor to the Man Inn Space however the last 3 times we have eaten here it has been extremely disappointing. Food has been incorrect, cold and severed at different times.

Has tones of potential as a Sizzler but something needs changing.

Hoping to return in 6 months onwards hoping it picks up!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Man in Space also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Man in Space? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Man in Space, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.