We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time, still as good as the first!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Birches Head

The Birches Head
119-121 Birches Head Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 6LL, England (Formerly The Bircheshead)
01782 219165
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $23
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Jen & Pete welcome you to The Birches Head. We believe we are an 'oasis' pub that offers virtually everything under one roof from eating and drinking to live music and keep fit. The Birches Head formerly The Birches Head Hotel is at the heart of the Birches Head community 1/2 mile outside the town centre of Hanley. We pride ourselves on our tag line, 'Love Being Local'. We use, where possible, locally sourced products, our staff have been employed from the local technical college and nearby area and all our crockery is from our world famous ceramic industry. The pub was refurbished in April 2013 and it too is all about our wonderful city. The lounge and restaurant is decorated with Warrilow prints and scenes of the local area whilst the traditional bar shares its love of our two great football clubs, Stoke City and Port Vale. With a Food Hygiene Rating of 5 we pride ourselves on cooking all our food from fresh; therefore expect a short wait for your food. Our beer is also exceptional. We have a range of draught beers, 4 permanent cask ales plus additional guest beers, great tasting wines and of course a full range of spirits and mixers. We have disabled access to the front (detachable ramp) and rear of the pub and a stair lift to our upstairs function room which is available to use for all family events. Outside is a terrace and smoking area plus the top class bowling which adjoins the pub. We open for breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week to eat in or take away. We have various keep fit classes Mon - Thur, Quiz night and Play Your Cards Right Thursday, live music every Friday & Saturday and open mike on Sundays. We also have Sky 3D & HD plus BT Sports for all the major live sporting events. So please come to our house for a great night out. Please note - we do not have a car park. There is parking on the streets in and around the pub. Also there is a community car park in Acton Street (the street directly behind the pub) and entrance can be gained into the pub from the alley way opposite.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Third time, still as good as the first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Myself, my partner and our two year old visited for some food. It was our third visit to the Birches Head and the visit was as good as the first time we visited.
Although I'm not vegetarian, I chose the mushroom and Stilton Wellington which was absolutely delicious, both my partner and little boys food was wonderful too. The service is great, the staff always have time for our little boy with a little chat and his own cutlery which may not mean much but these little touches are the icing on the cake.
Keep doing what you're doing, excellent food, excellent service, reasonably priced with lovely staff. I'll be back again soon :-) :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBH_Landlord, Manager at The Birches Head, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello there Katie. Thank you for sharing your family dining experience. We strive to achieve consistency and your fantastic comments appear to endorse this. Our staff are wonderful and do a great job for us. I will be sure to pass on your comments. You are absolutely right when you comment about our attention to detail is of paramount importance and those little things do mean a lot. For taking the time to write your review please let us know when you next visit so that we can give you a 20% food discount as a thank you. Warm regards, Peter & Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    17
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top food, top chef/chefs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Went in Saturday night(booked) on the recommendation of the head chef who is a friend of mine( if that makes me biased I apologise but the guy has won awards), I was disappointed to learn he was not working, however the food was excellent, good portions and well presented and a credit to the chefs who were working, I would recommend this pub to anybody who wants a proper freshly cooked pub meal, I visited on recommendations but now I will visit on merit - well done!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBH_Landlord, Manager at The Birches Head, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. It is great to see that we consistently provide fantastic, freshly cooked food which ever chef is working! Your personal endorsement and recommendation far out weighs any advert we can display and thank you for your promise of another visit too. We look forward to seeing you and please let us know when you are next in so that we can give you a 20% food discount as a thank you. Kind regards, Peter & Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire united Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A touch of class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Went for our 1st visit for my Birthday we were a party of 4 very impressed with the refurbishment
The food was good and the waitress was very efficient and pleasant prices were mid range but serving homemade chips made for a very enjoyable meal we will certainly return

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBH_Landlord, Owner at The Birches Head, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are very proud of our pub and it lovely that you comment on the decor as we know how this also adds to the whole dining experience. We are so glad you enjoyed our twice cooked chips. It is hard for me not to have them every single day!!!! Please let us know when you are next in so that we can give you a 20% food discount as a thank you. Warm regards, Peter and Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“The Best Pub by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

As a regular customer of the Birches Head and having had yet another wonderful evening there with my family I felt compelled to write a further review after reading one very negative and in my opinion very unfair review that had no substance to it. We first went to the Birches Head after reading very positive comments on Trip Advisor and I can honestly say it is one of the friendliest, community focused pubs I have been. The food is consistently of a high standard and the welcome from Peter, Jan and their team is always warm and friendly and you feel they really care about their customers. One comment made in the previous mentioned review was that the reviews are not genuine. Well I can assure you that my family and I are genuine reviews and again feel that it is a very biased and unfair review. Pete and Jan put their heart and soul into making the Birches Head such a special place and the vast majority of the reviews clearly demonstrate this. The Birches Head is a very special place and we look forward to spending many more visit there and enjoying the wonderful hospitality and food. It is well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBH_Landlord, Owner at The Birches Head, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you ever so much for your fabulous review and eye catching title! Your comments are most appreciated as you we know you understand wholeheartedly the work we and our staff put in to our make our wonderful community pub a success. Your endorsement of how much you, your friends and family enjoy it here is just so fantastic. I know you regularly recommend us to others so THANK YOU!
It is always lovely to see you all and as a thank you for your coontinued support please accept a 20% food discount. Looking forward, as always, to seeing you again soon. Pete and Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Lovely food, great service and good value for money. Varied menu with plenty to choose from. Sunday lunch cooked well and portions good. Will be coming back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBH_Landlord, Owner at The Birches Head, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your great comments. The Chefs have worked hard to get our Sunday Lunches right and it's nice for our efforts to be appreciated. It's great to get repeat custom so it's lovely that you write that you will be returning. Please let us know so that we can give you a 20% food discount as a thank you. Kind regards, Jen & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Birches Head also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Birches Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Birches Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.