We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
High Street | Tean, Stoke-on-Trent ST10 4DY, England
+44 1538 722153
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 399 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Excellent home cooked food, fantastic service and a great pint. Making you very welcome. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great local pub for food & drink.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

This pub isn't my local but I do always choose to come here over many others that I could choose from.

The food is always freshly cooked and the owner himself does the cooking ... Which he does an excellent job of. The menu is well put together and the food is tasty and good value.

The drinks are also competitively priced and there is a good selection of guest ales aswell as other beers on tap.

The staff are always very welcoming and enjoy people coming to the pub ... You don't have to be a local to come and eat or drink at the White Hart.

Many Thanks

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A gem of a pub in the " hart" of Tean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We have been using the "Hart" for the last six months, this pub is a traditional family run establishment offering excellent value for money food and real ales.

A warm welcome is guaranteed for all, whether a regular or a one off visitor and live entertainment combined with a great atmosphere genuinely results in a great night out.

Thanks to all at The "Hart"

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for your warm comments, it's nice to know that all our hard work is paying off :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stopped off here on way home from Lake District trip (found via this app). Sunday lunch menu was very limited (3 mains in total), but that optimistically made me think they'd be good. But they weren't! Veggie option was a tart, which was served cold! and somewhat stale/dry, with some veg cooked/reheated to oblivion. Served with gravy (on a cheese tart!?). Soups where edible, and beer was quite good. We'll find somewhere else for stop off next time.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We are very sorry and very surprised to see your comments. We are a small traditional village pub – so on Sundays we offer a ‘traditional Sunday menu’ which consists of 3 traditional roasts and 3 vegetarian options. It is a reduced menu compared to the rest of the week.
Both soups were vegetarian varieties and homemade as are all of our soups. Not packets or tins.
For the mains you ordered 2 leek stilton and mushroom tarts. I am reliably informed that you were given the option of hot or cold tart. You chose cold. At this point – we assumed that you were possibly vegetarians. So – I especially made you a jug of vegetarian gravy – which was for your vegetables.

As for your comments about the tart being stale and dry – I can assure you it was freshly made on Saturday evening in readiness for Sunday lunchtime by myself. It was most definitely not stale as you claim. I can only assume your palate is not used to fresh and quality ingredients such as cream, stilton, fresh vegetables and so on. The vegetables which accompanied your main course were potatoes, roasted potatoes carrots parsnips and green beans. All of which were fresh vegetables prepared by myself.

It seems strange to me that when the waitress asked you if all was well with your meal – you replied yes. I must point out – that if anyone is unhappy with their meal – we are always happy to replace it or refund it if we are made aware of any problem. But if you leave without saying about something which hasn’t pleased you – there’s not a lot we can do is there?

You then went on to eat all of the food you have just slated, leaving nothing for us to throw away.

It’s a shame that you chose to wield the keyboard instead of straightforward dialogue but I suppose that’s the nature of today’s society, no one knows how to communicate properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Friendly locals, nice put but poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is quite a nice local pub and the local people were very friendly. However the same could not be said about the staff on this visit. It took a long wait to order food and drinks and then they got the drinks mixed up. No apology for such a long wait, in fact they were totally unaware of it. Food was okay but not particularly generous portions and as I have said quite small in size. I think with a little more focus on customer service it could be so much better. I think the landlord does the cooking so is probably not that aware of front of house service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
I know this is the same response as to Tony B, but I am assuming that you were together on this occasion. I'm sorry to hear of your experience. May I ask which night that you came in? I had a trainee on the bar on the Thursday and Saturday who didn't work out but I wasn't made aware of any major problems. Why did you not ask to see me? This would have been resolved at that point quite easily.

Small portions? What did you order? I am a chubby character and give people portions that I am happy about. When I came out of the kitchen and into the bar I had nothing but praise. I've never been accused of small portions before, quotes from Saturday evening were that I was overfacing people.

Next time you visit please ask to see me first and on our menus we ask that people tell us if there is a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

Teanford, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.