We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Man-Friendly Shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trentham Shopping Village

Trentham Shopping Village
Stone Road, Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 8JG, England
+44 1782 646646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Shopping in Stoke-on-Trent
Type: Malls, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With 60 timber lodges housing amazing Shops, Cafes and Restaurants and a lovely friendly village atmosphere, you will love our unique shopping experience. Beware! You'll be tempted by our independent retailers and big brand names. The award-winning Trentham Garden Centre, is MASSIVE and offers a huge range of indoor and outdoor lifestyle and gardening products. Parking is FREE, so there's no need to worry that your ticket is expiring, take your time to browse and enjoy something to eat and drink while you're here. Trentham is a real foodies destination with an array of eateries catering for ladies who lunch, family feasts, sumptuous snacks and romantic dinners, with everything from fish and chips to contemporary Mediterranean on offer! Open for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and supper.
Stoke on Trent
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Man-Friendly Shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

I like shops as much as the next woman, but visiting shopping centres with my other half is a nightmare. Nowhere to sit, and then he wanders off while I'm in a shop. So many avenues and alleys he could disappear down, it's too stressful. That's why Trentham Shopping Village is such a pleasure to visit. It's layout means we don't get separated, and there's plenty of other distractions that mean we don't lose each other. The range of shops is interesting, even if we aren't buying, and the variety is just right. Not too long ago there was a danger that the refreshments offering was getting too same-y but this seems to have passed. The garden centre is also complimentary to the village, however parking can be difficult. Even at 3pm on a rainy cold Sunday, spaces were limited.
Yes, some of the shops are expensive but then this isn't a local high street but a destination. Personally I think this is a much needed addition to the area - and clearly I'm not alone in this!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrenthamEstate, Marketing Assistant at Trentham Shopping Village, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for the comments and review. It's great to hear that you have found somewhere which makes shopping with the other half easier. We are sorry to hear that you had difficulty parking and have passed on your comments to the estates team. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    33
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“I love this place but who on earth designed the cafe process?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Whoever came up with the concept for this place did well. It is easy to walk around, looks inviting with all the shops in lovely chalets, and the parking is very very easy. The range of shops is great - from the unusual (such as a shop that specialises in cooking and salad oils and another that specialises in whisky) to clothes, shoes, hats outlets and a good range of cafes to stop and have a drink, a snack, a lunch. There was a kids' attraction (a carousel) and the Christmas lights gave the whole place a lovely feel. There is enough space to walk around, to use wheelchairs or walking frames.

At the end of the shopping village (or the start depending where you park) is a fab garden centre and gift area which really appealed to my shopping inclination! BUT WHO ON EARTH DESIGNED THE COFFEE SHOP PROCESS?

PLEASE RETHINK!

1. There are not enough tables for the demand.
2. There are no singleton tables and, by the time I had ordered coffee, there was nowhere to sit other than on someone else's table.
3. What kind of managers design a system to require staff to turn away custom! AND WHY CLOSE EARLY IN A HOLIDAY WEEK? "It's management's decision," said the young waitress. Poor woman was getting it in the neck from several customers who had arrived at 4.32 only to be tuned away because "we close at 4.30." I guess if the place were run by an entrepreneur, customers would not have been turned away! It is daft to organise something like this around staff and not around customers. Worse still, STAFF WERE VACUUMING AROUNG SEATED CUSTOMERS. Come on, Trentham, where is your sense of etiquette????

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrenthamEstate, Marketing Assistant at Trentham Shopping Village, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi Sue, thanks very much for the review and the comments. It's nice to you enjoyed the shopping village experience and we are glad that you got a chance to see Trentham twinkling with festivity. We can only apologise for your experience in the cafe. I have messaged you to find out which cafe this is so we can report your comments to the correct manager. We hope that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great place to get different shops & gifts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We called here on our way home from a meeting up with friends for the weekend. There are plenty of parking spaces and it is free to park. It was very busy as it was the second Sunday in December 2013 so lots of people Christmas shopping. The log cabins are great individual shops and lots of different things to get. There were some lovely food shops selling cheeses and chutneys and different types of oils etc etc. We also managed to get a bottle of "Stags Breath Liquor" which I have not been able to get since I lived in North Scotland where it is made in the whisky shop and I was very pleased. I personally do not like whisky as such but I do like mead and whisky based liquors, so I was very pleased with this. We also went around the large garden centre and there are plenty of places to eat also.

Definately worth a visit and tie it in with a visit to Trentham Gardens as we did.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrenthamEstate, Marketing Assistant at Trentham Shopping Village, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
It's great that you came to see Trentham when it was twinkling with festivity. We hope that you enjoy your bottle of Stags Breath Liquor and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Different Shopping Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

A lovely shopping village to explore. A variety of beautiful log cabins selling various products and
then the main shop with outside garden area. Plenty of cafes to relax. They are all nice but we especially like Café David as so relaxing and always make you feel welcome. There is also a Premier Inn if people are visiting from outside the area and want to stay over and visit the Monkey Forest and the Potteries. Also a Frankie and Bennies. The main gardens are also lovely when in bloom with a boat trip and miniature railway but check times of these running, particularly out of season. You have to pay for main gardens but obviously not for shopping area

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrenthamEstate, Marketing Assistant at Trentham Shopping Village, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi Pauline, thank you for your review and comments about your visit. David's Brasserie is one of our favourites too. They also now have their own Tripadvisor page so if you have a moment give them a review they will really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A shoppers delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is a great place to wander, shop or browse. A wide variety of shops and places to eat. The large garden centre is well worth a visit, which has lots of Christmas gifts and decorations.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrenthamEstate, Marketing Assistant at Trentham Shopping Village, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi Susan, thank you for the review and comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trentham Shopping Village also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Trentham Shopping Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trentham Shopping Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.