We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great theatre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Regent Theatre

The Regent Theatre
35-37 Piccadilly, Stoke-on-Trent, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 104 things to do in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
England
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Great theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Large comfortable auditorium with great seating and sight lines. Has a varied programme of shows. Run by the Ambassador group the theatre does lack intimacy and the friendliness of a smaller theatre and drinks etc are on the expensive side but the shows are generally of a high standard.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    69
    12
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“fantastic panto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Yet another really good panto with Jonathan Wilkes. he may be local, but he is GOOD. The show was full of fun from start to finish, with an excellent supporting cast. Our grandsons loved it! Well done the Regent.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Snow White and the 7 dwarfs- pantomime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

You may find it strange that the theatre is just one the high street amongst all the shops, however when you go in the whole world changes, the architecture of the building is absolutely stunning.

My partner got us surprise tickets for this year’s pantomime, Snow white and the 7 dwarfs. It was absolutely stunning, the quality of the show was amazing and the actors were very skilled. The whole show was more like a musical as all songs but one were sung by the actors and actresses in the play. It was the first “Panto” I have seen and I think I’ve got my expectations set very high for next year. We are hoping to make this a tradition for years to come.

I would be more than happy to go back next year, even thought it's a long way away from where we live.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Danced the Night Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My wife and I have been to the Regent a couple of times now, the last one was to see a 'Motown Night'. We had seats in the 'Stalls' near the front with a great view of the stage. The show was truly brilliant with loads of the songs I used to dance to a while back. And to show just how good the singers and band were, the audience was up on its feet and dancing all night. A great night out but 4 stars because of crazy high bar prices.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

bought good tickets, really good, service good, but items bit poor for value. Take your own food and Light-Ups in!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Regent Theatre also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Regent Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Regent Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.