We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Stoke East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Stoke East to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lysander Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST3 7WA, England (Formerly Weathervane Value Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a trip to Alton Towers for February half term, the room was clean, tea and coffee in the room and trouser press ironing board and iron, room was very spacious, bed was comfy, bathroom was clean had towels soap and body and hair wash which I wasn't expecting for a budget hotel, staff were friendly and even sorted out that I booked the wrong weekend, the food in the pub was nice for a chain, I would stay here again and have even booked again for March as I am going to the Alton Water park.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    80
    61
    16
    27
See reviews for
50
92
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here on a trip to Alton Towers. The lodge is what it is - cheap and adequate for an overnight stay only. The room itself was ok, clean, but not spotless. The bathroom was ok and the heaters kept the room nice and warm as it was nearing the end of the summer.
The "blinds" on the windows as opposed to curtains weren't ideal and in the height of Summer I imagine you'd be awake early! Our room was at the back of the lodge so not too much noise from the urban jungle of Tesco, Mc Donald's and the constantly busy road at the front.
We ate in the Pub which was very busy & full of locals as it was "quiz night" the food was below average, I would imagine an establishment such as this employs a "cook" as opposed to a "chef" - either that or Chef needs a few lessons in the basics (such as how to cook a steak correctly as ordered) and to make sure dishes are not lukewarm when they come out of the kitchen!!

All in all this was ok, for one night, on the way through elsewhere but if its a relaxing, quiet break you're after I would stay away and pay a little more elsewhere, but for £30 a night you shouldn't expect the luxury of higher-end establishments.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

on all the websites this lodge is said to be near alton towers but it turns out it's about 40 minutes away although it is very close to local amenities such as a McDonald, Tesco, petrol station, pub and main roads. the cleanliness of the rooms are poor although on first glance it seems basic, dated but neat the showers a bit grotty, the bathroom mirror light doesn't work, there's lime scale on the tiles and generally the room is a little dusty. can appreciate it's budget accommodation but basics were not met such as someone there to greet us at reception when we arrived, had to go searching in the pub next door.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have stayed here twice recently for family visits and on both occasions have found the staff friendly and helpful, the room clean and warm, and the food plentiful if not really exciting.

We will be using it again.

Room Tip: avoid the easy access room 2 as the room door moves when people use the corridoor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at The Weathervane perhaps six or eight times now over the past few months. It's very convenient for the A50, and is situated immediately off the overpass roundabout, next to MacDonalds and Tesco (so don't expect absolute quiet at night).

In terms of pricing, think Travelodge, rather than Premier Inn. If no rooms are shown as available, try telephoning The Weathervane direct, as they may have free rooms not showing on booking.com, etc.

Like all regular guests, I have my favourite room, but all those I've stayed in have been comfortable, warm and well-equipped with en-suite bath/shower, TV and WiFi. Hair dryer, ironing board and iron appear to be standard, together with extra bedding.

The pub offers a good selection of reasonably priced meals and wines (the very drinkable house red is still under £7 a bottle in Jan 2013) and there are various meal deals (e.g. a curry and a pint for £4.99 on Weds in Jan 2013).

It isn't the Hilton, by any means. But nor does it claim to be. However if, like me, you're a seasoned traveller who likes to watch the pennies, I don't think you'll be disappointed here. Typical price for a double room with fold-out sofa £35 a night in Jan 2013. Breakfast is extra, but there's a 24x7 MacDonalds just the other side of the car park, should money be tight.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bewdley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Rooms and bathrooms nicely equipt, especially the bathroom ( the first bath I'd seen and had use of for some weeks, wonderful). But the housekeeping staff should look behind the bedroom doors when carrying out their room servicing to see what they have missed.. not nice. Room 11 was the room used on this occasion.

Having beenin a none pork eating area for some 4 weeks was looking forward to a plate of ham, egg and chips, after having experienced thick hand cut witshire ham at other Green King hotels.
What a disappointment, waffer thin, flavourless ham accompanied by over cooked eggs. I appreciate I was tired, but there was no disguising the lack of quality.
Felt so let down, went elsewhere for breakfast as I didn't want another illusion shattered.
Hope other parts of the group are not using the same ingrediants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Room was a good size and had a very comfortable bed, good flat-screen television, free Wi-fi, powerful shower, good pub next door

If television had been fixed to the wall there would have been more room on the desk.

Bathroom floor needs a good clean, especially behind the door and around the door stop.

Our room was on the Ground Floor and when we walked along the corridor there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke

We were a party of six adults who wanted to eat at the pub. We ordered our main course but when we went to the bar to order dessert we were told that the kitchens had closed.

One of the bar staff who was from a different pub said that he thought this was wrong and this wouldn't have happened at his own pub - dessert is part of the meal and we should have been able to order what we wanted. We looked at the menu but couldn't find anything that said that the kitchens closed at 9.00 p.m.

One slight down side was that our room overlooked the car park and there was a 24-hour McDonalds on the other side of the car park and there was also a fair bit of noise when the pub closed

All in all it was a good overnight stay and we would stay there again if visiting the area

Room Tip: We noticed that other guests mentioned that you should always try to get a room not on the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Stoke East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Stoke East

Address: Lysander Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST3 7WA, England (Formerly Weathervane Value Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Stoke East 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Stoke East Hotel lies just 4 miles from Stoke city center itself, perched conveniently by the A50 to make access to all major routes as easy as falling asleep in one of our wonderful rooms! Our lodge style hotel has been recently refurbished, and offers a contemporary-yet-comfy setting for any stay whether you're here on a romantic getaway, a business stopover or a family break. In fact, we're so family friendly that even 'Mr Tumble' once paid us a visit on his way home from Alton Towers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Stoke East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weather Vane Value Hotel Stoke-On-Trent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Stoke East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.