We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plough Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Plough Motel to your Saves list
Plough Motel
Campbell Rd, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 4EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
St Columb Major, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“you get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The man on reception was v sweet and the manager did get our tv going...although only 1 channel then we couldnt work it again. V dark room and cold with a running overflow outside the bathroom window all night. Food was v basic supper was just freezer chicken and freezer fish with oven chips..breakfast the eggs were well over cooked and the toast was burnt...
Wouldnt go there again, but he did say the menu was changing on 1st oct when restaurant and motel part....

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    19
    19
    55
See reviews for
28
34
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here in august after an Alton towers trip. The motel is ok, few niggles with the room, tv remote not working, hot water works when it wants but we was only there to sleep so wasn't too bothered. Not much around, about 15 mins in a taxi to town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

No one at the reception, customer had to get someone.
Room full dark musty, tv didn't work, toilet didn't flush, kettle didn't boil, hot water was scolding and cold tap was hot water! Unsafe for my son!!!
Friends experienced breakfast, they found dead wasp under their little girls bacon!
How this place is functioning is beyond me!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Got tickets for alton towers so booked this place in Stoke. As soon as we got to Stoke I knew it wasn't going to be pretty. Officially the worst place on earth i've ever stepped in. Harlem was nicer, absolute no joke. Its like the day after a zombie apocalypse.

The motel actually is a motel like you see in films where prostitutes and crack heads hang out. Guy on reception did make an effort, i'll give him that. Room was depressing. Dirty, grey, bed was well past its use by date. So cheap and old. I could not wait to leave.

Alton towers is great. If you have to travel far to get there please don't stay in Stoke. There is nothing there. Its neighbouring town Hanley was worse! We went for dinner because there are no restaurants in Stoke. While there I saw a girl kicked in the face, numerous fights and police constantly running around. Scary. The people are animals. Place needs a few schools,

Moral of the story. This place should be carpet bombed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Well where can I start I arrived there with my daughter after a long drive from Glasgow to be greeted by something that looked like it should have been shut down a long time ago.We were eventually checked in by the receptionist/waitress/barmaid.Our room was pretty basic with a t.v that took up most of it im sure they must do there shopping at the local dump.I thought fair enough it only cost £40 for the night so im not going to worry about it.We headed in to the restraunt to get some food.I ordered a mixed grill and the daughter ordered a chicken burger.One hour and twenty minutes later the food turned up.In the mean time every other table around us had a complaint about the food.I thought you couldnt mess up a mixed grill but how wrong can you be it was burnt and the liver was off it smelled like a dead cat Bear Grylls wouldnt have ate it and he drinks his own urine.Back at the room the bed had seen better days and it wasnt the most welcoming of smells.We went to the Toby carvery for breakfast and ate somewhere else that night.I dont think Health and safety have found this place yet or there getting a serious back hander.The only reason this place has got one star is that you cant give it none.Avoid at all costs!

Room Tip: Go to a Travelodge or sleep in a tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

A nice trip to alton towers was planned- nearly ruined by this place.Was give key to room to then find it was full of someone's possessions, went back to desk to be given another key, this time the room was empty. Twin room with the most uncomfortable beds I have ever come across , was like sleeping on a chain linked fence, poor quality everything in fact , bedding smelt , towels like tissue paper and absolutely no sound insulation . Pay more and stay somewhere better, we left early in the morning as could not stand to stay in the room any longer. Did try to finding another place to stay but couldn't find one available without a further 30 mile drive and as I had already driven for four hours I just couldn't face it- after no sleep due to the shocking mattress I so wish I had !!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just want to say a huge thank you for making our wedding night very special, the room was decorated lovely for us and thanks to all the staff. We would recommend this to people who are thinking of staying and need somewhere to book.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plough Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough Motel

Address: Campbell Rd, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 4EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Plough Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough Hotel Stoke-On-Trent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plough Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.