We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - thoroughly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Lake Inn

Black Lake Inn
Hilderstone Road | Meir Heath, Stoke-on-Trent ST3 7NT, England
01782 397385
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 413 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food - thoroughly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family and I visited the Black Lake Inn and it was excellent. Food was great and would recommend to others. Excellent value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    44
    22
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely food and lovely interior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited the black lake inn for the first time last night. My husband had cycled past on numerous occasions and said it looked nice and the food smelt nice! We arrived back from holiday in Spain and had no food in so I rang at 3 pm to try and book in for 6 pm. As I imagined they were busy but they said if we could get there by 5.30 pm they could fit us in. We were really impressed by the choice and prices and the children's menu was very good. Not just chicken nuggets as usual! My son was really pleased he could have chicken tikka and he could have half chips and half rice! We will definitely visit again and would recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Innocuous Exterior Belies A Treat Inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Having driven almost daily past the Black Lake Inn, and often seen it advertised, we decided to finally try it out! Whilst the exterior looks clea, the absence of any changing A-boards or interesting planters, means I'm never sure how busy this location gets or what sort of food it serves. So, presented with an opportunity to eat out without children, we opted to go for tea one Friday night.

The car park was half full, and once inside, there were a number of people already dining and various tables also reserved. However, we were accommodated in an alcove off the entrance, with the staff member joking that this was the exclusive area, because we were alone there at the time! Our orders were taken with humour and we selected items both from the daily specials board and the main menu. There was a good selection to meet most tastes, from traditional pub grub through to more sophisticated dishes, all at reasonable prices.

Our meals were served after a reasonable time, and plates collected, with orders for desserts also taken promptly. We both enjoyed our meals and would return. Upon leaving, the pub had become quite busy, and it was obvious that if you want to eat at peak time, booking is necessary. I'm pleased we finally tried the Black Lake Inn, we will be back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Have driven past Black Lake Inn many times but never eaten here before today. Our planned morning walk was cancelled due to torrential rain so we decide to meet our friends half way between our homes for lunch and decided to try the food at Black Lake Inn.
The staff were very welcoming and it was difficult to make a choice from the varied menu and daily specials board. The food was served promptly (my pate starter was gorgeous) and we all agreed each meal was well cooked and delicious. The portion sizes were generous too.
As someone else said you do have to pay for quality but we paid about £15 each for drinks, starter, main course and coffee.
We too will be back soon :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My partner and I tried this place having visited on a previous occasion, that time it was poor. Unfortunately this time it was worse. I opted for the succulent 6oz burger, I later commented to the waiter that I had been misled by its description, he completely agreed but offered no apology or refund. My partner opted for the veggie burger, tasteless. The chips are ok though.
The service seems to be very rushed and chaotic. This place gets busy but I have to question why or if the are repeat customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Lake Inn also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 
Werrington, Staffordshire
 

Been to Black Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.