We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baby Russets

Baby Russets
42, Kingsway | Stoke-upon-Trent, ST4 1JH, Stoke-on-Trent, England
01782 749688
Website
Update restaurant details
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Traditional English restaurant
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Been to Baby Russets twice now, once for my birthday at the end of August, with partner and friends. And again in September for in-laws anniversary.

Both times have been brilliant, great food, great service, great hosts and lovely atmosphere.

The portions are huge and nobody has ever left there needing to call for a burger on the way home (a couple of friends have massive appetites).

Make sure you book well in advance. They're always full.

We will be visiting again before Christmas, can't wait.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    258
    26
    15
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful service......shame about the food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I am really sorry to have to write this review, as everything I've read and heard about this place has been superb.
I'll start with the good points. The staff are amazing, so friendly, couldn't do enough for you. The drinks menu, whilst limited, is amazing value for money. The portions are huge, and altogether for 2 people with 3 courses each plus wine the bill was £54 - very reasonably priced.
All of this would suggest an excellent dining experience. I'm going to give them the benefit of the doubt and say the chef was having an off day! Unfortunately, the food was just abysmal. Chicken liver pâté that left a chemical aftertaste; mushrooms swimming in water; a 'battered haddock' that was limp, greasy and tasteless; a mixed grill with a lamb chop that was 90% gristle and a chicken breast too tough to chew and bloody inside. The only saving graces were the steak with the mixed grill which was cooked to perfection, and the chips. Even the slices of lemon in our water had clearly been stored with the salad items as they tasted of onion!
As I said, judging by the rest of the reviews here they must have had an off night, but I'm afraid to say I will never be going back to Baby Russets.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babyrussets, Owner at Baby Russets, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We usually don't respond to all the reviews on here even though we are so grateful for everyones comments and feedback. However this review we feel is a little harsh saying that our food is "abysmal" as on this particular evening you were asked throughout your meal if everything was ok and never suggested that there were any problems with your meal whatsoever and everything was consumed on each course. If you had raised any concerns we would have done everything to put it right and to try to make everything as lovely as possible for you. We are sorry that you've decided not to visit us again as we value everyones custom but thank you anyway for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Having read the excellent reviews we went with friends on the 2nd November and can only confirm previous customer`s comments. Food was lovely, relaxed atmosphere and great service. Three course meal drinks and coffee worked out at £25 per person. Excellent Value. Will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"fantastic"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

visited baby russets on saturday 20/october for my daughters birthday ,a party of eight every starter was devine, all main meals better still ,also owners steve & dave made my daughter a birthday cake what a lovely jesture .and extremely well priced with a well stocked bar many thanks x

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great british food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Oh my gosh! This place is just fab, the staff are friendly the music is brilliant and the food?? Well not only are the portions massive but it tastes great too!! You can tell that it's made fresh and alot of love has gone into making it. The managment steve and dave are fab too and genuinly want you to have a good evening. Book in advance or you may be turned away!! And that's not because they dont want your business they are fully booked every night of the week. I will be telling all my friends and family to check this little place ouy for sure and we will be back! Keep up the good work guys ! :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baby Russets also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Baby Russets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baby Russets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.