We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The New Royal Balti

The New Royal Balti
35 Church Street, Stoke-on-Trent ST7 8DA, England
(01782) 723988
Improve this listing
Ranked #312 of 400 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This has to be the worst curry ever had three types of curry which tasted the same never will I use this restaurant again please don't waste your time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    9
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Lovely decorated ...very friendly staff .. We went as a family of 7 and the service & food was outstanding ..best Balti ever !!! 10/10

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic food everytime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

As we live locally my partner and I visit regularly and always thoroughly enjoy our meal. We can no speak highly enough of this restaurant.

We are always greeted with a smile and all the staff have a great sense of humor and are very attentive. The Royal Balti is always busy and has a friendly and very relaxed atmosphere - great for a evening out.

The menu is extensive and the food is of very high quality, cooked fresh (and to your taste) and always plenty of it for a very reasonable price. We have never had a bad meal here and i can be very fussy!

This restaurant is not licensed so you must take your own alcoholic drinks - to me this is great as it is condusive to a cheap night - great food without an extortionate drinks bill.

Highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We tried the New Royal Balti, late (11.30pm) on the way back from a trip to the theatre. We had been to the shiny new curry house opposite a few times and thought we woud give this one a go.

When we entered the sign on the door said "cash only", and the resturant was full, and folk spilling out of the door !

We nearly turned away and left, but we got a table and waiters could not be more helpful, and the food was fanatasic. well worth a visit. If you want good value great food this is the place for you.

I have eaten Chicken Dansak only for 30 years so judge the food on how good this dish is, and it was the best i have had in 30 years.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Average place with an average food.. Can't say anything special about this place.. Will visit again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Royal Balti also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The New Royal Balti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Royal Balti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.