We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duke William

Duke William
2 St John's Square | Burslem, Stoke-on-Trent, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 406 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good value meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We ate here on Saturday evening (3 November) and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. Both the food and the wine were competitively priced and provided good value for money. We had the homemade pate and soup to start and both were generous portions - although the spicy tomate soup was definitely spicy. The duck for the main course was well cooked but was slighly less generous in quanity. There was also rather too much sauce and although it tasted nice, it was rather thin. The potatoes and vegetables were fine. The fish and chips were a very generous portion. The only thing that spoilt this was that we asked for no salad but the waitress forgot and salad was on the plate. Although she apologised and scraped it off, it still left an onion taste on part of the fish. The upstairs restaurant room is clean and bright but a strange mix of traditional and modern decor. Personally, we think that given the setting a traditional look with local pottery and photographs would make for a better ambience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    24
    6
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprize”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were doing a bit of shopping in Burslem, when we noticed The Duke was doing two course meal for 4.95 so we gave it a try. It was excellent.
We spoke to the Chef and said If the evening meals were as good, book us in for a saturday night.
We took the daughter and son in law with us for the meal. The dining room upstairs was very pleasant, welcoming and cozy. The staff were very good and the food was excellent.
Can I just thank all of them for a really good evening, would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

8 of us visited the Duke for an evening meal and we were very impressed. There was a good choice, well cooked and excellent value. Everything was freshly prepared and the mixed grill was awesome. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“20p for a starter!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

No, you don't need a trip to Specsavers. We went here for lunch on a Monday, the main restaurant was closed but no problem, the menu was on offer in the pub itself. There's a limited menu, £4.75 for the main course and a budget busting extra 20p for a starter. I had the melon starter which was nothing to write home about, but if I did choose to write home about it, the postage would have been more expensive than the starter so I can hardly complain can I? Mrs Biografi and Otto Jnr both had prawn cocktail with "decent prawns" (20p remember!)
On to the main event and my £4.75 buys me a very nice steak pie with mashed potato and mushy peas. My dining partners choose the roast turkey and were expecting the usual processed stuff but no! REAL TURKEY, you know, from a real bird, in fact, a real turkey bird, actually cooked in a real oven. Not gourmet food but very acceptable and two courses for less than a fiver? Bargain. Love Otto.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best experience on stoke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I've been to many carvery house in stoke and today for a change I went to duke William In burslem and I can honestly the food there impelled me to write this review the meat was cooked to perfection the service was outstanding and highly recommend this establishment to all family friends

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke William also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Burslem, Stoke-on-Trent
 

Been to Duke William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.