We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprize” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duke William

Duke William
2 St John's Square | Burslem, Stoke-on-Trent, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 390 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Stoke on Trent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprize”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were doing a bit of shopping in Burslem, when we noticed The Duke was doing two course meal for 4.95 so we gave it a try. It was excellent.
We spoke to the Chef and said If the evening meals were as good, book us in for a saturday night.
We took the daughter and son in law with us for the meal. The dining room upstairs was very pleasant, welcoming and cozy. The staff were very good and the food was excellent.
Can I just thank all of them for a really good evening, would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    97
    20
    6
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffs
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

8 of us visited the Duke for an evening meal and we were very impressed. There was a good choice, well cooked and excellent value. Everything was freshly prepared and the mixed grill was awesome. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“20p for a starter!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

No, you don't need a trip to Specsavers. We went here for lunch on a Monday, the main restaurant was closed but no problem, the menu was on offer in the pub itself. There's a limited menu, £4.75 for the main course and a budget busting extra 20p for a starter. I had the melon starter which was nothing to write home about, but if I did choose to write home about it, the postage would have been more expensive than the starter so I can hardly complain can I? Mrs Biografi and Otto Jnr both had prawn cocktail with "decent prawns" (20p remember!)
On to the main event and my £4.75 buys me a very nice steak pie with mashed potato and mushy peas. My dining partners choose the roast turkey and were expecting the usual processed stuff but no! REAL TURKEY, you know, from a real bird, in fact, a real turkey bird, actually cooked in a real oven. Not gourmet food but very acceptable and two courses for less than a fiver? Bargain. Love Otto.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best experience on stoke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I've been to many carvery house in stoke and today for a change I went to duke William In burslem and I can honestly the food there impelled me to write this review the meat was cooked to perfection the service was outstanding and highly recommend this establishment to all family friends

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Although it is a traditional town centre pub the restaurant is located upstairs and has been refurbished in a tasteful and traditional manner.
We have dined at this restaurant on many occasions with friends or just as a couple and have always received excellent service from all the friendly staff. The food is of an excellent standard and the portions generous, apart from the extensive menu they also have a specials board.
All in all this is a very pleasant restaurant to dine in which offers excellent value for money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke William also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Duke William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.