We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful pottery, brilliant tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moorcroft Pottery

Moorcroft Pottery
Moorcroft Factory | Sandbach Rd., Burslem, Stoke-on-Trent ST6 2DQ, England
01782 820500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Shopping in Stoke-on-Trent
Type: Factory Tours, Specialty Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Northants, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful pottery, brilliant tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is the third time in 15 years I have visited the Moorcroft factory in Burslem near Stoke. The tour was even better than previous visits. Our guide was so helpful and we had a short film to watch first. When you visit you are shown each step of the complicated processes which go into making a piece of Moorcroft. Everyone of them made by hand. It explains the price of these objects. They are not only beautiful works of art but heirlooms. A vase I bought years ago has doubled in price. If you are interested in how things are made this is a must for you.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    3
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Moorcroft - SO much more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Loved the Moorcroft Factory Tour - Gives you an insight into how much work and art goes into the making of just one piece

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Moorcroft”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

From entrance to exit, a big WOW! Fabulous pottery, the most friendly and knowledgeable tour guide, (many thanks Dawn) and the amazing artists who produce this pottery make this visit an absolute must for anyone who has an interest in true craftsmanship.
It must be wonderful to work where your work is truly appreciated by all who see it.
Just wish I could afford some......... Note to self
buy Lottery ticket!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
139 attraction reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“a reminder of times past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Excellent industrial-era, small scale buildings which still produce some fine works. Plenty of ceramics from yesteryear + today to see for locals, passers-by + tourists alike although a little bit 'out of the way' if you don't know Stoke-on-Trent so it could involve a taxi if not driving ?

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“moorcroft factory tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

After may attempts at trying to get 2 places on the Moorcroft factory tour we finally succeeded. Boy was it worth the wait. We enjoyed it so much. Corrie ( apologies if I have spelt the name incorrectly) was so friendly, engaging and knowledgable. It was fanatastic to speak to the potters and painters themselves.

The factory shop was a huge bonus and tempted us into buying a piece.

The only down side was that there was no cafe on the premises so if requiring lunch either plan in advance, take sandwiches to eat before or visit the local diner which we did.

Thanks again for a lovely and fascinating tour.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moorcroft Pottery also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burslem, Stoke-on-Trent
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Moorcroft Pottery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorcroft Pottery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.