We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and a great day out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterworld

Waterworld
Festival Park | Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5PU, England
+44 1782 205747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 104 things to do in Stoke-on-Trent
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WaterWorld is the UK's number one Tropical Indoor Aqua Park based in Staffordshire. Splash around in a wave pool surrounded by slides, rides and flumes. There is plenty to do for all ages, for weaker and stronger swimmers alike, with a Water's Edge Restaurant where you can lounge and grab a quick bite to eat. We have a choice of meal deals, sharing platters and specialities of the day. Many of the things on our menu are also gluten free, nut free or Halal. Just ask the helpful staff on your next visit. For a dripping good time, WaterWorld also host a range of birthday parties for all ages in its own special beach themed party area. With unlimited time in the pool, birthday buffets as well as goody bags and balloons every child has a whale of a time at a WaterWorld Beach Party. If you're looking for the most happening party every Friday, the Wave Rave is the place to be. With the latest chart toppers, exciting games and competitions with give-aways, it's easy to get fluming excited.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great value and a great day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

waterworld is just such fantastic value, a family of 4 for £37.00 for all day entertainment. there is plenty of slides,the queues are not that long and although it could be a bit warmer you do not get cold while queuing. there are plenty of life guards so you feel the kids are safe. the place is a little old and tired but it is clean and you are having so much fun that it does not really notice. my only complaint is that the most of the showers were not working and those that were only dribbled and none of the hairdryers worked which i guess didn't matter if you could not take a shower and wash your hair!
subway is attached to waterworld and this was disgusting. there was food and litter all over the floor, tables and chairs. really revolting and put the brand to shame. dont let this put you off though we had a great day and would go again and again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Manager at Waterworld, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments. We maintain a temperature that is pre set to around 31 degrees. Although we understand that some of our guests would like it to be warmer, we also understand that this is too warm for some of our other guests so we try to balance a happy medium to please everyone.

We are sorry that the Subway outlet attached to Waterworld was untidy during your visit. We have passed your comments onto its owner who is dealing with the issue.

We have had a few problems with our showers recently, however the issue has now been resolved and they are in full working order again.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    240
    144
    104
    117
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a big thaks to the staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

i would like to praise the staff who keep a watchfull eye out for safety and also the odd weirdo.a big thanks to SARAH (the liverpudlian sounding lass)who brought my daughter to me after a young lad was caught grabbing the girls as they swam past.Later on in the day the police arrested a man who was reported to the staff .this is no reflection on water world and i would take and have taken my daughter and her freinds many times but for you oddballs out there the staff are onto you. once again a big thank you SARAH I did ask receiptionist to tell your manager
so he can give you the praise you deserve.
on a better note the girls had a great day out once again

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Manager at Waterworld, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. It is just a shame that these have not arisen due to better circumstances. Please accept our apologies that your daughter had to experience this. It is unacceptable behavior from anyone. Your comments have been passed on to Sarah and she has been given the praise she deserves. We look forward to seeing you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Kids Really Enjoyed the day out here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My 3 children and thier friends had a great time here, they did not want to get out of the pool. It was busy as expected in the summer holidays but manageable. It was not the cleanest place as other reviews have said. For the amount of money paid it is good value, we have paid more for days out which they have enjoyed less. The only negative thing is the smell from the deep fat fryers constantly on the go with the amunt of cheap junk food on sale. Would definitely visit again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Manager at Waterworld, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. Please check out our healthier option menu which consists of salads, jacket potatoes, sandwiches, Panini’s, fruit, veg, fish and daily specials during your next visit. We understand that not everyone wants to eat "junk food" and happily accommodate this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good for the kids but they don't notice the dirt and the queues were immense”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visited after 12 and used a 2 for 1 voucher so it wasn't too expensive however, I thought the £4.50 charge for me to sit on a chair and spectate was steep! My lads spent at least half an hour, sometimes more waiting to get on the rides which I thought was too long. When they did get on the rides, they enjoyed them. It was so busy in there that people were struggling to get seats. I had planned on buying lunch but wasn't prepared to wait in nearly an hours queue for the priviledge. I couldn't even get a coffee as it's the same queue for food and had to resort to food and drink from the vending machines. The changing rooms were the pits. Dirty nappies everywhere and grime ground around the cubicle feet, which has obviously been there for some time - needs a good steam clean and scrub. I didn't see anyone cleaning while I was there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Manager at Waterworld, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Our changing rooms have just undergone a major refurbishment costing thousands of pounds. All lockers have been repaired and had a major uplift with new doors and mechanisms. Also our walls have been covered using vinyl artwork. Our changing facilities are deep cleaned every night using chemicals that disinfect, deodorize and descale. Throughout the day we have 3 lifeguards in there working round the clock to maintain cleanliness. We understand that customers leave litter and dirt from their shoes around throughout the day. Unfortunately this cannot be prevented but what we can do is use our recourses to help to deal with these issues. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Still A Really Enjoyable Time Was Had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Last visited quite a few years ago when the kids were a lot younger.

Went yesterday with my son and daughter (now 19 and 15) and my son 's girlfriend. We had 3.5 hours of great fun ! Yes, getting the locker to lock was a challenge, but that hurdle over, we found the slides fantastic fun.

Life guards were well in attendance and despite it being initially quite busy - it felt safe.

It's one of those attractions that when you've not been for ages, you wonder why you've left it so long between visits !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Manager at Waterworld, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterworld also viewed

 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Waterworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterworld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.