We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Good to go Back"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greyhound Inn

The Greyhound Inn
Manor Court | Penkhull, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 5DW, England
+44 1782 414800
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 413 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"Good to go Back"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Haven't been to the Greyhound in a long time, due to high prices and mis-management. Must say we had a very warm welcome, good range of ales and food very good, all proper home cooked food, what a refreshing change. They also have some good day to day offers on, two meals and a bottle of wine, (at the time of writing), no more than £20. Get in there and enjoy !!
Also there is a very good outside area for when the sun shines.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    0
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely place, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Me and three friends went here on a Saturday night and had two steaks and a bottle of wine for £20. The meals were lovely and the chips were to die for. This is a locals pub but everybody was so friendly. Loved it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We went on Saturday 8th February, had a wonderful evening. Food amazing, try fiery red hot burger very scrumptious which my son had, I had veggie curry but I like my curries very hot so they adapted it to my liking. Chef was really friendly (sorry don't know your) but she took the time to come & speak to us, even when she had finished her shift. Everyone was very friendly. Congratulations to the new owner, for brilliant job you are all doing.
We will be returning!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A must for locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Visited on Friday night. I had been once before and liked the feel of the place. It is a pub that is busy and friendly, and so come for food. Luckily we found a table and ordered drinks. We had a good bottle of house wine for a tenner. Ordered burgers from the decent pub menu. They were good value for money and really well cooked. Overall at 7 quid for a burger you really can't knock it. Saw that they do several good offers so will certainly return,

Pros- Good food. GREAT atmosphere. It is great to go into a pub that is busy that serves quality but unpretentious food in the suburbs! Really nice staff, very welcoming.

Cons- No dessert menu. Wouldn't want anything over the top but maybe some of the basics would finish a meal off nicely considering it is a food led pub.

Will definitely return soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value and quality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Earlier this month my wife and I visited the Greyhound for an evening meal. We had two steak meals and a bottle of wine for £20. The steaks were the finest we have had for a long time anywhere, cooked exactly as we asked for and the wine was good quality. On a cold night the open fire was most welcome and we found the atmosphere very friendly. When the kitchen closed the chef took time to chat to the customers and thanked us for our custom. The Greyhound is excellent value and quality and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greyhound Inn also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greyhound Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.