We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinct lack of respect for customers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Bella Napoli

La Bella Napoli
6 Cheapside, Stoke-on-Trent 01782 283318, England
+44 1782 283318
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 389 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
uttoxeter
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Distinct lack of respect for customers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My husband booked this restaurant as it said it had a pre theatre menu. As we were going to see Ghost with friends at the Regent he felt this would be suitable so booked for 5.30. We arrived just before and was taken to our table upstairs. The place was full which we took as a good sign. Our drinks order was taken and served promptly. We then waited about 10 minutes for them to take our order. Things looked good..... our starters arrived and were fine. Over an hour later after asking twice our mains arrived. What a disappointment, hardly anything to it, a small dish of carrots and potatoes for 4 people. Pork loins covered in what looked like tinned tomatoes, steak with a few mushrooms. Staff not interested when asked for the bill. After waiting for a further 10 minutes we went downstairs and paid the bill. What a waste of money. Will never go back again. We have never had such a bad experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    27
    18
    9
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant works Christmas meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Only working up the road at gala this place seemed ideal, we had a slight issue of most of us don't finish work till 10pm which makes booking a Christmas meal hard but la Bella napoli were happy for us to come at 10om and stay open till 1am which was a very nice gesture. On receiving the set theatre menu at work we was a bit disappointed there wasn't a lot a variety on there, but the chef did say we could choice of the the normal menu of we wished, there was 21 of us and we all had atleast 2 course if not 3 and there was not one complaint about any of the food, which is excellent work because to please 1 person is hard to to pleased everyone is fantastic our only fault was how expensive the drinks were but that's the same in and fine dining restaurant, will Deffo be returning at some point in the near future :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I went with two friends to this Italian restaurant expecting good Italian food. My starter was mushrooms stuffed with scampi and bacon in a pernod sauce - what I received were two small mushrooms stuffed with what looked like breadcrumbs and it did not taste of scampi or bacon. Disappointing. Main course was to be a pizza with ham and mushrooms. The pizza was a lot smaller than the plate and came with a few slices of fresh mushrooms and what they said was ham - I could not taste the ham. Neither of us stayed for dessert. The food was disappointing though the staff were friendly and attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most enjoyable Italian restaurant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We came here last Saturday night at 5:15 five of us going to the regent theatre to watch west side story final night. The restaurant started getting full very quickly! We were given the menus and after a min or two we were asked for drinks. The owner took the order and I have to say that she was very very professional! She told us about the specials and asked us if we wanted a little bite before the order. We had starters and mains from the main menu and not the theatre menu since was more choice in the main one. We all loved it. The service was very good even with limited time. The table next to us commented too how good it was especially after being so full up the restaurant everywhere!! We managed have a sweet and coffes too. We had a brilliant night and we will see you again soon. Thank you

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great meal before the Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

me, my family and few friends about eight of us, were going to the theatre last thursday to see West Side Story. It started at half seven. We did not pre-order since every one of us lived miles away from each other! Very kindly they told us to come earlier than usuall since they do not start servimg till six! So we were there at 5:00 and some other friends arrived at 6:00 because of the heavy traffic! We started eating at 6:15 with starters, main courses and three ice creams!

The restaurant was very full and we all were going to the same place i believe. The service was very good even thou was so full! The food was delicious. Loved the sauce on my steak with red wine and mushrooms. Three ladies were happy because they managed to have an ice cream too.

We were recommended to come here from some of our friends who visit Bella Napoli quite often and we were glad we came since it was really good. The atmosphere was great. Very welcome family business.

We would go again soon and we will recommend you to all our friends and family.

BELLISIMO...GRAZIE..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bella Napoli also viewed

Stone, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to La Bella Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bella Napoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.