We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Etruria Hall, Festival Way, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5BQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fab weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Had a fantastic stay at the best western. Had a wonderfully relaxing swim and spa treatment then a lovely spray tan before going out in to town. Staff at hotel and spa were lovely and very helpful. Would stay in this hotel again. Lovely comfy beds and fab breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    276
    118
    42
    27
See reviews for
287
172
19
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

It appears a large hotel on first arriving and sometimes with hotels like this I get the impression they will be a bit too busy to offer that "personal touch". I could not have been more wrong. We booked the hotel because of its proximity to a wedding we were attending at The Ashes Wedding Venue, Endon. After we had booked I contacted the hotel to ask for them to arrange taxis to and from the event. A member of staff - James did this for me. On arrival reception staff were lovely and were aware of the taxi booking. The room was excellent and quite a surprise how spacious it was. (I almost felt we had been given the wrong room!). We ate in the lounge bar, again staff were really pleasant and we ordered food, all delicious, my husband had a burger with chicken breast instead of the usual "beef" and I had cheese and muchroom omlette. Taxi arrived promptly at the time requested and again on our return. The bed was really comfortable and we had a good nights sleep - no noise from other guests etc, lovely bathroom and nice hot shower. Lovely breakfast, and although its self service; the staff will serve you if you wish. Check out easy, and to say we had meals and wine was surprised at the good value. I'd definately recommend this hotel. Lovely hotel and excellent staff. Many thanks.

Room Tip: We were given a room on the Fourth Floor which is designated a quite area. We had a suite, so lots o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Booked a 4 night break, hotel is in an ideal location for alton towers. We had a family room which has a double bed and a single bed which was great for my 12 year old as some sofa beds can be uncomfortable. Our room faced on to the car park/ water world. The rooms are reasonable size, with a small table and chairs also. The bathroom & room were both clean and adequately stocked with both towels/toiletries and tea/coffee. Breakfast was Buffett with lots of variety cereal, English, toast etc. the staff in the reception and in the dining area were were both pleasant and helpful and made you feel welcome. This hotel is well situated with water world, cinema, ten pin bowling, frankie & Benny's, mcdonalds, morrisons supermarket, toby carvery all within a short walking distance. We look forward to going back to Alton Towers and staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Myself and my partner (21 and 27yrs old) were booking a weekend away to Alton Towers and this hotel was one that Alton towers themselves suggested through their website.
When we arrived we thought we had arrived at the wrong destination. The pictures didn't do it any justice. The hotel its self was beautiful. Our room was massive and our 'double bed' was more like a queen-size bed. Free WiFi for the rooms and plasma TV. Bathroom had a bath and shower and large sink area.
Staff were very pleasant and couldn't fault.
Our breakfast was to die for! unlimited buffet and refills.

Only thing i would say is the food and drink is very expensive. However you are a 5min walk from a retail park which has McDonalds, Pizza hut, Frankie and Bennys, Tesco, Salisburys etc.
On the Friday that we arrived we just walked to sainsburys and could drink and took it back to out hotel room. On the Saturday spent all day at Alton towers then went out for dinner at Frankie and Bennys. Checked out on the Sunday.
There is also an Odeon cinema and harbor with restaurants not even 2mins away.
Definitely recommend this hotel especially if booking through Alton towers as breakfast is included.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We are just back from a 3 night stay - we stay here twice a year. We have never had any problems staying here - clean, friendly, fantastic food, close to lots of shops and family entertainment.
We got married in this hotel 10 years ago and since then its the only hotel in the Midlands that I would stay in - they have never let us down. The rooms are spacious, spotless and cleaned every day. We also had my husbands 40th birthday party in the hotel last July. We had a meal for 40 people and they restaurant staff were amazing and they helped make the night one to remember!
We were there for another Alton Towers trip and even tho the hotel was booked out over Easter we didn't have to que for breakfast or wait for a table on Easter Sunday for lunch in the restaurant. The Easter Sunday lunch was lovely and great value for money - there was also a magician and balloon maker who made the children's day more entertaining.
The swimming pool is great - my son loves it!! We also loved the jacuzzi and steam room - solo relaxing. Look forward to seeing you all again in August - make sure you keep me the family suite again :o) Catherine, Belfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Catherine J,

Many thanks for your 5* review as a returning guest.

It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay again an made full use of the hotels facilities.
I have shared all your great feedback with the whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in August.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Great location for our trip to Alton Towers. Plenty of parking and really friendly staff. breakfast was great and gave us a good start to the day. The staff could have not been more helpful. Would go again.

Room Tip: great location for alton towers, about 35 mins away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Paul K,

Many thanks for choosing us as your choice of hotel when visiting Alton Towers.

As you have said we are in a great location only 16 miles away from Alton Towers and situated on Festival Reatil Park which houses Waterworld, Odeon, Tenpin Bowling.

I have shared all your great feedback with the team and we hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Machin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House

Address: Etruria Hall, Festival Way, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Stoke-on-Trent Moat House Hotel offers comfort and convenience, just 5 miles off the M6 Motorway and within 10 minutes of Stoke's town centre. Ideally placed for a family break, the hotel is close to Alton towers, while Waterworld is within walking distance. Bowling and the cinema can be enjoyed nearby too! As for more relaxing, grown up places of interest, Trentham gardens and a scenic canal can be reached in a matter of minutes! Our onsite leisure club means you can relax without leaving the hotel. And did we mention that this hotel is proud holder of BEST WESTERN's 2010 'Hotel with personality' award? So you'll be sure to receive a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stoke-On-Trent Moat House Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Stoke-On-Trent Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Moat House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.