We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay ruined by 1 member of staff!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stanley Matthews Way | Trentham Lakes, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 4EG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A pleasant stay ruined by 1 member of staff!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Firstly, as a business traveller I never write reviews as I only normally stay in the same 1-2 hotels in the midlands. This time however, I felt that I should register to give my account of the holiday inn express Stoke on trent.

Like I said usually I only stay in the same 1-2 hotels (premier inn's), but, due to a call out I found myself in stoke and decided to try a Holiday Inn express.

My first impressions were great.
Clean, Modern lobby area.
Swift Check in.
Friendly faces always helps.

Got up to my room and it was basic, but, very clean and tidy.
1 downside was the old style tv, but, a tv nontheless.

In my room I used the Wifi to send emails for work, so there is wifi atleast.

Down in the bar It was fairly quiet so I decided to take advantage of the peace and quiet and sit and read a book with a beer.

This is where my stay was ruined...
I ordered my 1st beer charged it to my room and sat down.
So far so good.
As I sat there about to go over to the bar and order my 2nd beer the gentlemen behind the bar seemed to be having issues with gas. So I continued to read and wait until he'd resolved this.
After multiple attempts he seemed to have fixed the issue.
So up I went to order.
Now it seems that at the holiday inn express the reception staff are also the bar staff.
The gentleman who was serving on the bar was now answering the phone.
So I was served by a young lady. Amy
Never in my whole life have I been spoken to in the manner of which this young lady spoke to me
greeted with an abrupt "yes please" now dont think the please was friendly. it wasn't.
I politely asked for a pint of Becks.
"anything else" Again with a tone that made me feel like I was wrong for asking for a beer.
I replied no thank you, can I charge that to my room please?
"That all depends if you're allowed"
This one remark made me feel very upset.
Not only did it insinuate that I was not worthy to charge a drink to my room, but, it also made a few other guests chuckle. to which "Amy" smiled. or atleast it looked like a smile.

needless to say no paying guest should have to go through this experience. Afterall isn't it customer service?

As I sat back down in shock as to what had just happended I observed the two desk staff and I must say they were very different

The gentleman possibly the manager? He had a mustache but I wish I'd of caught his name because he is perfect for customer service. very calm and collected and very friendly.

The young lady seemed to act like answering the phone seemed to be a major inconvenience to her.

Other than the 1 staff member in question it was a very enjoyable stay.
It seems a shame to mark so low on a wonderful hotel, but, for me the fabric of a hotel is its staff. Including its bad ones.

Needless to say this experience has reconfirmed why I choose to stay at the premier inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We welcome all feedback as this allows us to develop our hotel and team.

I am pleased to see that there were many things about our hotel that you liked. I am also delighted to add that we will be upgrading our TV’s in the new year.

In reference to your comments about the team members on duty we have taken note of these comments and will use them as a coaching tool to improve this area. I like yourself have a strong belief in great customer service and I apologise on this occasion that we let you down and spoil what was overall a pleasant stay.

If you wish to discuss further please contact me directly on 01782 377000

Regards
Fiona Frawley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    197
    71
    28
    7
See reviews for
172
104
20
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in the Holiday Inn in stoke last weekend, the hotel was in a great location, we found the room was vey clean, the front of house service very friendly and breakfast was excellent a lot of selection and included in the price of the room which was very reasonable definitely stay there again ..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We only stayed one night so we could go to Alton Towers for the fireworks so arrived very late on the Friday staff brilliant as i had forgot my print off of proof of stay, very reasonable priced at £49 a room with breakfast, great breakfast, room and bathroom were very clean, staff freindly and helpful. A +++ would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your time to have taken to share your comments with us and give us valuable feedback.

Our hotel is a great choice when visiting Alton Towers and I hope you had a great time at the theme park.

It is fantastic to hear you found our hotel staff friendly and helpful as we pride ourselves in delivering the highest levels of customer service.

Our housekeepers take a lot of time and effort in preparing our guestrooms to meet the utmost possible standards. Thank you for your lovely comments, which I will communicate to the Housekeeping Manager.

I hope you will return to us again should your travels bring you to Stoke-on-Trent in the future; we would look forward to welcoming you back here again.

Kelly Graham
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here with my husband and 2 children for 2 nights. We used this hotel as it was a good price on booking.com. We wanted somewhere close to Alton Towers. Was very reasonable price, only 30 minutes away from Alton Towers and included breakfast in the price. Breakfast was very good, a large selection of food, something for everyone.

Staff were good and friendly and did advise us of the busy times for breakfast so we ensured we avoided these particular times.

Room was clean and tidy, shower was nice after a cold day at the park.

Only thing I would have a little moan about was the sofa bed for my children, this was quite old and very uncomfortable. My eldest daughter could not sleep the first night so slept the other end the next night.

I would recommend this hotel and use it again myself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Joann3b,

Thank you for sharing your fantastic comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I’m happy to hear that your stay with us has met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you to Stoke on Trent in the near future.

Kelly Graham
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night and was delighted with our room, very clean and cosy. Bathroom was lovely and staff were very friendly.

I would definetly stay here again and would highly recomend it to anyone.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Clean modern immaculate and warm hotel. Breakfast fine - and good value. Enjoyed a trip to Harvester next door which was simple food well cooked and good value .We were staying with our 8 year old daughter who also enjoyed her stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Well booked this hotel as stated great location for Alton Towers.
Room had double bed and sofa bed for our 15 year old.
We arrived at the hotel after a long day at Alton Towers. Our room was lovely and warm, however daughters bed was not made up nor was there any bedding for us to make it! However a quick call to reception and this was soon made up.

Sleep was firstly disturbed by the noise of other guests with no consideration of other guests. Those who slam doors, or those who allow their children to run along corridors at 12.30am is beyond me.

Why do people stomp around - other 'normal' people walk quietly when others sleeping on the lower floors.

Beds - double bed was very uncomfortable (maybe I am spoilt with a waterbed at home). The sofa bed was better!

Shower - was very large and wonderful.

Breakfast - what an absolute disorganised experience that was! No cutlery and the ones that we found were dirty. No cups for coffee, maybe this was too busy for the hotel to cope with.

Food - no scrambled eggs, choice of beans, sausages and scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and yogurt or cereals.

Checkout was pleasant. Car park was very large.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Luci-Fur

Please let me apologise for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Stoke on Trent. We do try to meet all of our guest expectations and this time we did fall short of yours.

We have taken note of all of your comments and these will be used to improve service in the future. If you would like to discuss the situation further please contact me directly on 01782 377000.

Yours sincerely

Kelly Graham
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent

Address: Stanley Matthews Way | Trentham Lakes, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 4EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome at the modern Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent hotel, near junction 15 of the M6.The Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stoke-on-Trent is 4 miles outside Stoke city centre on the A50. Set in a convenient location in the Trentham Lakes Business Park, the hotel has plenty of free parking. Manchester Airport is 38 miles away, and Stoke's famous potteries are a 5-minute drive away. Treat your family to a day out at Trentham Estate, with its shopping centre, lush gardens and monkey forest. Family meals are on offer at the Harvester Restaurant opposite the Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, and kids up to 18 can sleep for free on the sofa beds in our family rooms. Alton Towers theme park is 15 miles away. You can invite up to 35 colleagues to Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent's smart meeting room. Equipment includes an LCD projector and wireless Internet, which is available throughout the hotel. Relax in the comfortable Great Room lounge with a drink from our licensed bar or simply catch up on email with our free wireless Internet access. Join us on each morning of your stay to enjoy our complimentary breakfast; a delicious buffet featuring scrambled eggs, sausages, pastries, cereals and more. We look forward to welcoming you to our Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stoke. Rooms feature air conditioning, flatscreen TV and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-On-Trent Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Holiday Inn Stoke-On-Trent
Stoke-On-Trent Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.