We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stanley Matthews Way | Trentham Lakes, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 4EG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
1 review
“Very clean and comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night and was delighted with our room, very clean and cosy. Bathroom was lovely and staff were very friendly.

I would definetly stay here again and would highly recomend it to anyone.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    200
    73
    28
    7
See reviews for
174
106
20
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Clean modern immaculate and warm hotel. Breakfast fine - and good value. Enjoyed a trip to Harvester next door which was simple food well cooked and good value .We were staying with our 8 year old daughter who also enjoyed her stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Well booked this hotel as stated great location for Alton Towers.
Room had double bed and sofa bed for our 15 year old.
We arrived at the hotel after a long day at Alton Towers. Our room was lovely and warm, however daughters bed was not made up nor was there any bedding for us to make it! However a quick call to reception and this was soon made up.

Sleep was firstly disturbed by the noise of other guests with no consideration of other guests. Those who slam doors, or those who allow their children to run along corridors at 12.30am is beyond me.

Why do people stomp around - other 'normal' people walk quietly when others sleeping on the lower floors.

Beds - double bed was very uncomfortable (maybe I am spoilt with a waterbed at home). The sofa bed was better!

Shower - was very large and wonderful.

Breakfast - what an absolute disorganised experience that was! No cutlery and the ones that we found were dirty. No cups for coffee, maybe this was too busy for the hotel to cope with.

Food - no scrambled eggs, choice of beans, sausages and scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and yogurt or cereals.

Checkout was pleasant. Car park was very large.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Luci-Fur

Please let me apologise for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Stoke on Trent. We do try to meet all of our guest expectations and this time we did fall short of yours.

We have taken note of all of your comments and these will be used to improve service in the future. If you would like to discuss the situation further please contact me directly on 01782 377000.

Yours sincerely

Kelly Graham
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed for one night as we were going to Alton Towers. Room was fine, except we had booked a double and got a twin - Not ideal, but it was clean. Reception were friendly enough.Corridor was noisy at night, as was the noise from outside, but then it is close to one of the main roads in stoke.
Main gripe was in the morning for breakfast. I understand it was going to be busy, with the hotel being sold out, and ti being half term, but even so, a queue to the main doors for the canteen like breakfast wasn't great, and it certainly didn't smell appealing. Went to Frankie and Bennie's about 10 mins away on the Festival Retail Park - much nicer!!!
The hotel itself was fine, you do get what you pay for, but I cant imagine I would book to stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Felicity1986,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. Our hotel is a great choice when visiting Alton Towers and we hope you had a great time at the theme park.

I would like to apologise for the disturbance in the corridor during your stay. On this occasion we were unable to control the noise however rest assured we do complete corridor checks during the night to ensure all ours guests have great night’s sleep.

Thank you once again as we welcome any opportunity to improve and hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind Regards
Kelly Graham
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

WE stayed here for one night the room was dirty, the shower didnt work as the pipe wasnt even attached and breakfast was awful.
It sounded like a race track outside and sounded like elephants were staying in the hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Diane,

Please let me apologise for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Stoke on Trent. We do try to meet all of our guest expectations and this time we did fall short of yours.

We have taken note of all of your comments and these will be used to improve service in the future. If you would like to discuss the situation further please contact me directly on 01782 377000.

Yours sincerely

Kelly Graham
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights whilist working in the area. Usual good standards in the rooms: clean, tidy and well maintained. The only thing I miss in this chain of hotels is a bath
The adjacent 'Harvester' restaurant was more than sufficient but beware it can get very busy and a lot of pepole seem to book!! The breakfast as always was a welcome bonus and more than adequate
I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I’m glad to hear that your overall stay with us has met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you to Stoke-on-Trent in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here a while back as a base for Alton Towers. Decided to use the hotel again and for the price paid we couldnt complain at all. The room was very clean, spacious, functional and we were situated on the 3rd floor as far away from reception as possible so it was extremely quiet at night time.

Breakfast was a bit chaotic mainly because everyone wanted it at the same time and the staff did their best to keep everything filled up. Car parking was fine, plenty of spaces the its about a 30 minute drive to Alton Towers.

Overall another enjoyable stay, though I agree that you must ask for a room as far away from Reception if possible, Highly recommend room 334 (twin room) if you want a quiet nights sleep!

Room Tip: Make a point of asking for rooms away from reception, preferably on floors 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your fantastic comments on Tripadvisor.

Our hotel is a great choice when visiting Alton Towers and I hope you had a great time at the theme park.

Our housekeepers take a lot of time and effort in preparing our guestrooms to meet the utmost possible standards. Thank you for your lovely comments, which I will communicate to the Housekeeping Manager.

We take a lot of time to prepare breakfast for our guests to ensure you have a good start the day. Thank you for your candid feedback as we welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you once again for reviewing our hotel and I hope that if you return to Stoke-on-Trent in the future you will give us the opportunity to make amends for the disappointment you felt on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent

Address: Stanley Matthews Way | Trentham Lakes, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 4EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome at the modern Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent hotel, near junction 15 of the M6.The Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stoke-on-Trent is 4 miles outside Stoke city centre on the A50. Set in a convenient location in the Trentham Lakes Business Park, the hotel has plenty of free parking. Manchester Airport is 38 miles away, and Stoke's famous potteries are a 5-minute drive away. Treat your family to a day out at Trentham Estate, with its shopping centre, lush gardens and monkey forest. Family meals are on offer at the Harvester Restaurant opposite the Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, and kids up to 18 can sleep for free on the sofa beds in our family rooms. Alton Towers theme park is 15 miles away. You can invite up to 35 colleagues to Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent's smart meeting room. Equipment includes an LCD projector and wireless Internet, which is available throughout the hotel. Relax in the comfortable Great Room lounge with a drink from our licensed bar or simply catch up on email with our free wireless Internet access. Join us on each morning of your stay to enjoy our complimentary breakfast; a delicious buffet featuring scrambled eggs, sausages, pastries, cereals and more. We look forward to welcoming you to our Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stoke. Rooms feature air conditioning, flatscreen TV and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-On-Trent Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Holiday Inn Stoke-On-Trent
Stoke-On-Trent Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.