We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stanley Matthews Way | Trentham Lakes, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 4EG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights whilist working in the area. Usual good standards in the rooms: clean, tidy and well maintained. The only thing I miss in this chain of hotels is a bath
The adjacent 'Harvester' restaurant was more than sufficient but beware it can get very busy and a lot of pepole seem to book!! The breakfast as always was a welcome bonus and more than adequate
I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I’m glad to hear that your overall stay with us has met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you to Stoke-on-Trent in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    189
    69
    28
    7
See reviews for
161
101
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here a while back as a base for Alton Towers. Decided to use the hotel again and for the price paid we couldnt complain at all. The room was very clean, spacious, functional and we were situated on the 3rd floor as far away from reception as possible so it was extremely quiet at night time.

Breakfast was a bit chaotic mainly because everyone wanted it at the same time and the staff did their best to keep everything filled up. Car parking was fine, plenty of spaces the its about a 30 minute drive to Alton Towers.

Overall another enjoyable stay, though I agree that you must ask for a room as far away from Reception if possible, Highly recommend room 334 (twin room) if you want a quiet nights sleep!

Room Tip: Make a point of asking for rooms away from reception, preferably on floors 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your fantastic comments on Tripadvisor.

Our hotel is a great choice when visiting Alton Towers and I hope you had a great time at the theme park.

Our housekeepers take a lot of time and effort in preparing our guestrooms to meet the utmost possible standards. Thank you for your lovely comments, which I will communicate to the Housekeeping Manager.

We take a lot of time to prepare breakfast for our guests to ensure you have a good start the day. Thank you for your candid feedback as we welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you once again for reviewing our hotel and I hope that if you return to Stoke-on-Trent in the future you will give us the opportunity to make amends for the disappointment you felt on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Been here before and it was just as good this time. Not really much else to say apart from we would certainly go back, Holiday Inn Express really are the best of the budget hotel chains, when you consider breakfast is inclued they really are good value, especially if you book ahead.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Kentish Travellers,

Thank you for sharing your fantastic comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I’m happy to hear that your stay with us has met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you to Stoke on Trent in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Another great HI express stay. Much better than the premier's and travelodge's, with the decent bed and sofa bed (which was made up on arrival) and lovely breakfast. Considering how full the hotel was, all credit to them for keeping breakfast stocked up and also the night before checking us in so quickly. Very happy overall, however:
1. Be careful of changing the thermostat setting mid showering, as it goes into scald function! Shower didn't seem to be draining too well either, however, not too concerned as room evidently very clean.
2. If you are down the Alton Towers thing and don't have satnav, learn your route! The signs take you, unnecessarily, all the way round via Uttoxeter.
3. Book restaurant. We rocked up, bleary eyed at the Harvester to find they didn't have a table for another 45mins. The whole of Stoke seemed to be eating out, as after jumping in the car trying two other restaurants, ended up going to Asda and getting bits and pieces! Top marks to Hi express, for providing plates and cutlery for those doing this.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

A Saturday over-nighter to attend a reunion. The hotel was busy. The accomodation was in an excellent state of repairs and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and helpful, arranging a taxi to the city centre for us and advising us what was a reasonable fare (£7). Sunday morning breakfast was very busy with families and their offspring, but we all managed to get seated and had hearty breakfasts (a choice of cereals, toast, cold buffet-type or hot sausages, beans and scrambled eggs... or any combinations of the same!). Overall, excellent value and an excellent location for Stoke-on-Trent and the Potteries. This was our second visit in a year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

On arrival the hotel looked as expected for a Holiday Inn Express with a good-sized car park. Reception area was quite smartly presented and check in staff fair. We were allocated a ground floor room close to reception which was fine apart from the terrible "wet dog" smell. There wasn't a bath only a shower. I didn't bother reporting this as we were only staying for one night and hadn't paid much for the room. We just opened the window and hoped it wouldn't be so bad when we came back later. Unfortunately it was ten times worse when we closed the window to go to sleep.

We went to bed at 10am but could not sleep due to the excessive noise in the reception area. This was then accompanied by four children repeatedly running up and down all of the hotel corridors screaming and whooping. When it got to 1.30am I had to go to reception in my pyjamas to complain as they didn't answer their phone. When i reached reception i realised they had no way of hearing the phone due to the noise! The reception area was packed out with noisy drunken idiots which I assume included the parents of the unsupervised children. I asked reception if they thought the level of noise appropriate to which she agreed it was ridiculous. She had said she had repeatedly asked them to keep the noise down to no avail. I was assured it would be sorted. It wasn't and I had to go back again at 2.30am to complain again. I suggested that they perhaps stop pouring the vodka and use the money they had made on all-night drinks to refund my hotel payment. She agreed but said her manager would arrange a refund in the morning.
The guests from the reception seemed to then congregate outside from 3.15am onwards shouting right by our window. Marvellous! I was so angry by this point as my children had been woken up four times during the night.

The next morning on chekout I spoke reception again about my refund. I was spoken to in a terrible manner and had to argue in front of a full hotel and explain the situation all over again as nothing had been mentioned by the previous member of staff. I was so overtired and upset as well as annoyed that the customer service was so poor.

We only stayed in the hotel to give us a good night's sleep and to ensure our children weren't too tired for our day at alton towers. Unfortunately our day was ruined by our family being overtired and grumpy thanks to no sleep at all the night before. The Holiday Inn should have refunded our £200 spent on Alton Towers tickets and £100 on petrol too as it was pretty much wasted thanks to the horrendous stay in their hotel.

Overall i thought the hotel and especially the staff and service was some of the worst i have ever experienced.
Very disappointed and will never use them again.

Room Tip: Dont go! Especially dont risk a room on the ground floor or near reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMSOT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Ms Scott

Please let me apologise for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Stoke on Trent. We do try to meet all of our guest expectations and this time we did fall short of yours.

I know that we refunded your stay prior to your departure but this does not compensate for the lack of sleep and I would like to apologise for the impact it had on your trip.

We have taken note of all of your comments and these will be used to improve service in the future. If you would like to discuss the situation further please contact me directly on 01782 377000.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Frawley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We travel from Penzance up to Stoke three or four times a season to see the Mighty Potters. I wish we'd tried this hotel years ago. Now stayed twice and couldn't wish for a more friendly group of staff...they actually take an interest in their clients! The rooms are neat and tidy. I like a bath but the shower's perfectly adequate for one night. Only five minutes stroll from the Britannia and a Harvester and Hungry Horse within easy reach. The breakfast is an added bonus which makes the stay great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent

Address: Stanley Matthews Way | Trentham Lakes, Stoke-on-Trent ST4 4EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome at the modern Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent hotel, near junction 15 of the M6.The Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stoke-on-Trent is 4 miles outside Stoke city centre on the A50. Set in a convenient location in the Trentham Lakes Business Park, the hotel has plenty of free parking. Manchester Airport is 38 miles away, and Stoke's famous potteries are a 5-minute drive away. Treat your family to a day out at Trentham Estate, with its shopping centre, lush gardens and monkey forest. Family meals are on offer at the Harvester Restaurant opposite the Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, and kids up to 18 can sleep for free on the sofa beds in our family rooms. Alton Towers theme park is 15 miles away. You can invite up to 35 colleagues to Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent's smart meeting room. Equipment includes an LCD projector and wireless Internet, which is available throughout the hotel. Relax in the comfortable Great Room lounge with a drink from our licensed bar or simply catch up on email with our free wireless Internet access. Join us on each morning of your stay to enjoy our complimentary breakfast; a delicious buffet featuring scrambled eggs, sausages, pastries, cereals and more. We look forward to welcoming you to our Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stoke. Rooms feature air conditioning, flatscreen TV and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-On-Trent Hotel Stoke-On-Trent
Holiday Inn Stoke-On-Trent
Stoke-On-Trent Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.