We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty uncleared tables.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Reginald Mitchell

The Reginald Mitchell
Parliment Row | Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 1NQ, England
01782 281082
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #200 of 389 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Dirty uncleared tables.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Was a regular visitor to this Wetherspoons at one time, not been for a long time, went on a Monday afternoon, price of a pint was cheap £1.75, if you want a table it looks like tough luck because most of them were still covered with used plates, cups and glasses, staff were bringing food out and then going back to the kitchen and not clearing the tables, very odd ??OK for a cheap drink and that's about it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    22
    17
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“horrendous”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I went here with friends for lunch on a thursday, we ordered together but for some reason all got our lunch at least 10 minutes apart! I ordered a chicken club salad - what can i say? it consisted of a large bowl of unwashed lettuce which was 'rusty and dry' , something that i guess was supposed to be chicken that was very dry and bland, afew tomatoes (stalks still on) and a bit of bacon with the rind still on that was dripping in grease. When i order a salad i expect FRESH salad leaves, meat cooked properly and some actual salad ( cucumber and spring onions are cheap enough - especially when you're charging £6.50, a little dressing? ... nope!). A big disappointment. my friend had ham egg and chips, her chips were cold, her eggs were burnt and her ham was watery, our other friend had jacket potato with cheese and beans... potatp was again burnt, very dry (no butter offered - she had to pay extra!) and her plate was dirty. We will certainly not be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Service and great fodder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been to this newly opened pub for food now many times and can confidently say. That for the money the food is amazing as is the service and overall the cost is remarkable.
All I will say to the landlord is that as many of new pubs that open far to many become complacent and they can easily become tired. The decor is also well thought out and credit has to go to the designer. 1st class whoever is responsible for the subtle flavour of stoke on Trent themes. I will be returning many times.
Thank you Reginald Mitchell. AKA spitfire designer.
Peter Timmis Longton

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“It's a city centre Wetherspoons. What do you expect!?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

First things first. As an eatery this is probably no better or worse than most Wetherspoons. You get a reasonable selection of average food at maybe slightly below average prices, especially if you avail yourself of the meal deals.

It's convenient if grabbing a bite to eat whilst out on a pub lunch or shopping trip, but i'd recommend Syndicate or Harley's before it for better service and atmosphere. Best to avoid 'death row' the area opposite the downstairs bar. That is the haunt of the alcoholics and ne'er do wells!

As a night time venue don't bother. Long past its sell by date. Decent selection of beers/ciders if you can put up with the depressing lack of any atmosphere these days, and of course the always slow service!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Wetherspoons, Hanley”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Ok I do understand the negative reviews. The area is socially and economically deprived and hence the old and young alcoholics and chavs do congregate in here. But the building is nice and the upstairs section is quite pleasant. Like most Wetherspoons, the service is awful and there are never enough bar staff. It must be company policy to keep the wage bill down but it's a real problem during busy periods as you can be stood at the bar for an age. I don't mind the odd drink in here if I've got to pop to the opticians or the bank but the clientele are mostly a rough bunch with limited intellect!! But the selection of drinks is the best you'll find. That's why I like it. You can get a Marlborough Sauvignon blanc or a thatchers gold cider, instead of the appalling and ubiquitous strongbow or cheap and nasty Pinot Grigio. To be honest there is no where else to drink in Hanley that I could recommend. The city centre seems to have gone to the dogs. Pubs closing down or inhabited by down n outs. It's a shame. Some serious investment and regeneration is needed before it resembles a post apocalyptic Armageddon inhabited by characters straight out of Mad Max...

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reginald Mitchell also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Reginald Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reginald Mitchell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.