We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home from home.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenwood Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kenwood Guest House to your Saves list
Kenwood Guest House
14, Stoke Road, Stoke-on-Trent, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Stoke-on-Trent B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Lovely home from home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Considering the owners are new, the Warm welcome we received was appreciated. Lovely homely touches in room that I appreciated I.e cushions, hospitality tray and a mini boxs of chocs as it was valentines day. Shampoo conditioner and soap provided with towels. Shower head is very small and points to left so was a little tricky and either boiling hot and with slight tap extremely cold but nether the less I showered and used the built in hair dryer.... it all worked it was all clean and did the job. Breakfast was first class and again hosts attentive and Warm... They informed us of their future plans and we can't wait to come back in the future to see them! Thank you x

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guest House, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is really nice to know all the little touches we provide are appreciated! We are sorry to learn you had abit of trouble with the shower though. Upon investigation, it seems the water flow increases when the shower head is loosened slightly! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kenwood in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    13
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
52
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Small car park, nice welcome. Room 3 , small single with a small en-suite (sit on the loo while brushing your teeth in the sink and rinse your feet in the shower all at the same time small) very clean room. Bed was shocking, the worst nights sleep I've had in ages, woke up with a stiff neck. ( new bed is a must) the breakfast room is immaculate with plenty to choose from. I didn't have a cooked breakfast, but had toast ( good quality bread, other establishments take note) all in all this place is nice, but I was let down by the bed, which is the main factor in a hotel,bed & breakfast, guest house.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guest House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We can only apologise for your discomfort during your stay, your negative comments have shocked and surprised us! It should be noted however, the size of the room is reflected in the price paid. Your booking for a single room was made through a third party, this sometimes makes it difficult for us to match our guest's requirements. If you had mentioned your concerns, we would have been more than happy to move you to an alternative, larger room.

We have only been in the premises for 3 months and have indeed earmarked all bedrooms to be refurbished, but you can appreciate this will take alittle time. That particular room has been a firm favourite with repeat guests. Also, a guest who stayed in that room on a long term basis, couldn't fault it and in fact gave us excellent feedback on here!

We thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Kenwood Guest House - fantastic, magnifique, magnifico!!!!

My wife and I booked this after reading Trip Advisor's No.2 rating.....It should be upgraded to No.1 with immediate effect. We had never been to Stoke and had a long drive from London and when we arrived we were met by David, a lovely man, who showed us to an even lovelier room. Clean, tidy, comfy bed, all mod-cons the lot.

Breakfast.......well what can I say, absolutely amazing, all freshly cooked by Julie (David's lovely wife); not like these big hotels where its sitting there for hours on end.

If you are visiting Stoke, stay here ....no other B&B nor Hotel will outshine this, I promise.

We are already staying here in the summer when we bring our son up to Alton Towers, it is that good............

One last thing, I don't know if I mentioned the word FANTASTIC before ;-D

Room Tip: Rooms are all wonderful ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guest House, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Wow, what a wonderful review! Thank you so much for your positive comments. It was our absolute pleasure in welcoming you both to the Kenwood and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look forward to your return this Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have been using this Guest House for my work accomodation over the past 3 months, my experiences here have been top class, The owners have been exceptionaly co operative to meet my needs....
The room I have used is very clean, warm and comfortable and I would thoroughly recommend the 'Kenwood Guest House' to every one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guest House, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, especially as we were B&B newbies at the beginning of your stay back in November! It was our pleasure to provide a warm 'home from home' wecolme during your time here. To us, Room 3 will be forever known as your room! We both send our best wishes for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Spent two nights at this guest house. New owners Julie & David were amazingly warm and welcoming, completely gracious and nothing was too much trouble. Coupled with fabulous home cooked breakfast, made staying there an absolute delight and probably my favourite accommodation in the 3 weeks in the UK. Well done David & Julie, keep it up!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guest House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it is very much appreciated. To be told we were your favourite accommodation in the 3 weeks you were in the UK has to be the best review in the history of all reviews of all time!! It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both, we hope the rest of the tour was a great success and if you ever find yourselves back in the UK again, we can recommend a certain little B&B in Stoke-on-Trent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had to urgently find a place to stay near to Stoke hospital - although officially closed for Xmas this B&B went out of their way to look after us - really brilliant - nothing was too much trouble - the room was quiet (all with en-suite) the place family and couple friendly and the break-fast - well that was worth staying here for on its own - Dave is a trained chef and it showed in the locally sourced and brilliantly presented food! Top notch easy to find and very very good. If we have to come up to visit Stoke again this will be the first place I check - really in a league of its own!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guest House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, it is very much appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kenwood if you ever find yourselves in Stoke on Trent in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here overnight at a weekend - was in town to see the Glyndebourne Tour at the Regent Theatre. Booked on-line the day before via their website, which was hassle-free. The B&B has recently been taken over by new owners (I think they had been there for about 3 weeks when I stayed), and they really couldn't do enough to make their guests feel welcome. The mince pie and glass of mulled wine on arrival (a special Christmas offer) was a particularly nice touch, but the home-made biscuits on the tea tray in the bedrooms, fridge with complimentary bottled water and decent quality toiletries were also more than I expected from a place in this price bracket. The rooms are large, with lovely high ceilings, decently furnished and effectively heated. I stayed in number 2 (a twin) which overlooks the road, but there was little traffic noise and the blackout lined curtains did their job against the street lighting. En-suite bathroom was clean, with the shower supplying nice hot water at a decent pressure. At breakfast there was an excellent selection of fruit juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals etc. plus a choice of cooked stuff including a full breakfast, scrambled eggs or porridge. All the hot food is prepared from fresh when you order. Coffee (the deal-breaker for me with hotel breakfasts) came nice and strong in a caffetiere. There is free parking for 5-6 cars behind the guest house, and our taxi into Hanley in the evening cost £4.

So overall, a real gem of a B&B - I will definitely stay again next time I have cause to visit Stoke-on-Trent

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwoodguesthouse, Owner at Kenwood Guest House, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Guest House

Address: 14, Stoke Road, Stoke-on-Trent, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenwood is a family run guesthouse and is a winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. Located on the A5006 easily accessible from the A500 which connects with both junctions 15 & 16 of the M6 motorway. Kenwood is within walking distance of Stoke Railway Station and Hanley, which is the city centre and in close proximity to Stoke-on-Trent College and Staffordshire University. Stoke-on-Trent, being home to the world's greatest and most respected pottery manufacturers, is steeped in history, having many Visitor Centre's, Ceramic Museums and Factory Shops. Potteries Visitor Centre's are nearby e.g.Emma Bridgewater, Wedgwood, Royal Doulton, and Wade.We offer six relaxing en-suite letting rooms, each with complimentary toiletries, fridge with complimentary bottled mineral water, courtesy tray to include Fairtrade tea, regular and decaf coffee and homebaked biscuits. There is a spacious dining room to enjoy our traditional English breakfast, freshly cooked to order using locally produced ingredients with a homemade vegetarian sausage option, an extensive cold buffet with a selection of fruit juices, cereals, pastries, yoghurt and fresh fruit. The guesthouse benefits from a secure, CCTV monitored car park at the rear and there is a bus stop immediately outside. There is a wide range of shops, restaurants and takeaways close by and is located close to popular attractions such as Hanley Park, the Brittannia Football Stadium, the Regent Theatre, the Cultural Quarter and Waterworld, UK's No 1 indoor tropical Aqua Park. The world famous Alton Towers theme park is only 13 miles away. A WARM WELCOME AWAITS YOU..... Check in: 4.00pm - 9.00pm Check out: 10.00am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kenwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenwood Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.