We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A change of owners but just as good !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Plough

The Old Plough
147 Etruria Rd, | Etruria, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5NS, England
01782 269445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 413 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $57
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In todays world it seems that tastes change at the speed of light, from hem lines to hairstyles, nothing seems to last, but occasionally something comes along that has the ability to stand the test of time, to maintain its popularity, to become a classic...Welcom to the Old Plough, A Classic Country style Eating house, famous for Steaks and Sauces, situated in the Centre of Stoke On Trent.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“A change of owners but just as good !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Hubbie & I were very sad to see hosts Bob & Jane Ward retire, they have worked so hard at this venue & other places in Etruria & Butt Lane, enjoy your well earned retirement Bob & Jane.
The steaks were just as good under the new folk - keep up the good work & we will be back !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    36
    25
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had a great meal here. The staff were very helpful and polite. This pub has a great atmosphere can recommend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Agree with the last review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

It's been a while since I visited the Old Plough. Back then, I wasn't all that impressed. Sam H's review persuaded me to return (that and the fact that it was too cold to walk any further anyway....) . I didn't meet Dave but Nikki is lovely - just right for someone at the front of house.
I had the famed mushrooms to start. They're rightly famed and I'll have them again. My heart had been set on a Rib-eye but Nikki talked me into the Sea Bass special. It didn't take much persuading. The fish and veg were great but the sauce didn't quite come up to the same standard. Nothing terrible, just not quite as good. A decent pause before I finished with the Citrus flan, an Espresso and a whiskey. All were excellent and it's worth noting that the coffee was surprisingly smooth and that the whiskey came, as it should with no hint of ice or any other contaminant.
A non-itemised bill came with no fuss which made me happy and kept the bean counters in the dark :-)
It wasn't the cheapest of nights out so I may not return this week (in deference to the aforementioned bean counters) but will as soon as I'm back in Stoke.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Staffs
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Better than ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Booked in on Friday 01,11,13 with my wife the steak was cooked to perfection and at last someone who does not overcook the chips , very impressive start and we will be back.

perky1.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“WHAT A CHANGE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

What a difference without Rob & Jane. Visited Wed 30/11/13, food very different and a total change in the enviroment-Please note the venue should be re-named 'The New Plough'

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Plough also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Old Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Plough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.