We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vine Hotel to your Saves list
Vine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Salter Street, Stafford ST16 2JU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Stafford
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Rooms wore clean and had everything you needed great shower very powerful we had room 9 right at the end of the corridor so was nice and quiet, the lady at check in/out was a bit rude and to serious/business like and not very welcoming rest of the staff wore nice. Nice plentiful breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    22
    15
    13
See reviews for
15
32
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I've stayed here a few times, and I have never been disappointed. It's a local, non-chain hotel. And with that come all of the pros and cons of a locally run hotel. You get the friendly local service, but you don't get the highly manicured rooms of a Travelodge.

The restaurant is a classic 'pub' style place, with locals popping in for a meal and a beer.

Nice place, will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I had decided to ignore the other reviews and was therefore pleasantly surprised by the warm room and friendly staff. The problems started when i was woken up by a women screaming in the throws of passion at 1.30 in the morning. Unfortunitely this went on for about an hour , which was rather embarasing as I was sharing my room with my teenage son after visiting the uni.
As if that wasn't bad enough, the fire door outside our room was banged shut continually for the rest of the night as people made there way back after there nights out (Room 6). And at 3.30 two women along the corridor had a very heated argument shouting obsenities at each other until nearly 4.30. Things seemed to settle down as I watched the sun come up .. I then managed a couple more hours sleep. I wouldn't stay here if you want a good nights sleep!!
On the good side the breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: Don't stay anywhere near the fire doors.. better still go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

In general this is a good hotel we had room 1 on the ground floor just out the back it was very nice comfy bed but the house keeping let's it down, food very good.but we had a bit of a nightmare later on we wear asleep and awakened by some one kicking and banging the door trying to get in to our room we wear both frightened he was shouting and was drunk So you dont no what to expect he went away after about ten minutes to disturb others in the hotel,next morning reported it to the staff to be told o sorry about that and took the full payment but we did not get much sleep after that.thay did get the people for it but it looked like an all male party so watch out for that, but up until then it was very good.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

In general this place is great but the state of the bedroom carpet let it down badly. Fluff (which there was plenty of) can be excused but finger nails and plastic bottle tops were not nice to see. They need to have a word with their house keepers!

It has to be said that the place is very quaint but if you are unfamiliar with Stafford it can be tricky to find. My Sat Nav took me around the one way system twice before I stopped to ask for directions. They have a car park but in the end it was more convenient to park in a public car park and walk back to the hotel.

Staff were all very nice. The bar area is nice too. The beer is great and the pub grub us fine but it is pub grub and nothing more. It would have been nice if they cleaned their laminated menus as well. the one I handled was pretty grim.

The bathroom was clean, the shower was awesome, the bed very comfy and the linen was spotless. Would I recommend it - yes I suppose but I sincerely hope that the management see these comments and make the small changes necessary to make this a smashing wee place and attract even more customers.

Room Tip: Avoid being directly above the main bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Must rate as one of the worst value for money hotels in the country.Stayed here over the Christmas period and must have tried half a dozen rooms, including two in one night. The reason for moving rooms so often was to try and get a nice warm shower, in fact on two occasions I even had to boil the kettle for a wash. Complaints to management seemed to fall on deaf ears just got a lot of excuses and definitely no recompense.The rooms are very dated and not the cleanest.Even as, £79.95 per night, residents could not get served in the bar after 11pm, (10.30pm on Sundays). No one on reception in the mornings and no info left for the code,(which was changed most nights), for operating the car park barrier.

Room Tip: Don't use rooms 14, 22, 23, 26 or 28, 17 not too bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My experience with my partner last November was excellent. We were given the annexe room far away from elsewhere which I couldn't fault. Didn't expect a city centre hotel to be such good value. Breakfast fine though wouldn't serve us any earlier than stated sadly so my partner had to leave without his ! However room spotless and modern and pub had character and reasonable prices too.

Room Tip: Ask for the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vine Hotel

Address: 7 Salter Street, Stafford ST16 2JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vine Hotel carries the accolade of being the oldest pub in Stafford. Located in the centre of the town, tucked down one of the many narrow side streets, The Vine offers a wealth of 'olde worlde' character to its guests. The hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of all the main attractions that Stafford offers, including the Gateway Theatre, Ancient High House and the Shire Hall Gallery. We offer secure parking for our hotel guests, just call in at reception and we will lift the barrier for you. Our pub has a traditional feel, with cosy corners, and classic pub food is served all day. A wide range of drinks are available from the bar. At the Vine Hotel, we pride ourselves on our friendly service and you are assured of a great stay whether for business or pleasure. Hotel accommodation includes our fantastic breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vine Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.