We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saracens Head

Saracens Head
Stafford Road | Weston, Stafford ST180HT, England
+44 1889 270286
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 189 restaurants in Stafford
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We love this pub, the choice, quality and value of the food is excellent. The staff are polite, efficient and helpful. We are always made to feel welcome and the atmosphere is always friendly. We have visited may times and never had a bad experience. Would recommend The Saracens to anyone, they make the best Stilton Sauce I have ever tasted!!

Excellent!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    55
    13
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The quiz nights are good too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Not been to the Saracens for a meal for a while and wish I hadn't left it so long. Went for a birthday meal with a party of 7. All meals, inc starters were served together, promptly and courteously. The quality of food was excellent, choices available on the menu were wide ranging, diverse and satisfy all appetites. Waitress was just about the right level of attentiveness without being a pain, or being ignorant.

I know from my regular trips to the Sunday night pub quiz (which is a great night out too) that Barbara and Graham work hard to establish a top brand and match it with great service - I think it's testimony to them that eve nthough they weren't there (night off?) everything ran very smoothly.

Good value, great cooking, excellent service

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to chill and eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stopped for lunch with our Grandson. Made to feel like it was home. The food was excellent although spoilt for choice. Well worth a stop for a bite to eat and a drink.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Perfect End to a Splendid Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I located the Saracen's Head when planning a group visit from Leeds to Chasewater and Amerton. From my first contact Barbara was prompt and enthusiastic. I prebooked 21 meals from the menu which includes a vegetarian option to suit two of our party - not always on offer at many pub restaurants. The setting in the conservatory was perfect, the service equally prompt and the quality and presentation of the food exceeded our expectations.
I have arranged these visits round the country for many years and this was without question the best dinner we had ever had.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food !!! Excellent service !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Whist visiting the surrounding area , myself & my two daughters visited the Saracens head for an evening meal on a busy Saturday night , the food was home made , excellent & freshly cooked we were made to feel very welcome & the service was second to none!! i would most definitely visit again if we are in the area!!! Well done to all at e Saracens head.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saracens Head also viewed

 
Stafford, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 
Stafford, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 
Stafford, Staffordshire

Been to Saracens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saracens Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.