We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Post House Stafford

The Post House Stafford
35 Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2HZ, England
01785231450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 193 Restaurants in Stafford
Price range: $8 - $154
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Central European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Post House bustles all day long from breakfast to elevenses, from lunch to afternoon tea and into the evening when the lights are dimmed and the candles are lit; choose from either the very elegant Pillar Restaurant or relax in the comfort of the Bistro, sip beautiful drinks in the Cocktail lounge or step out onto the dance floor in Red Bar & Club.Wherever you want to be, The Post House is your new sanctuary; a home from home where nothing is too much trouble.
Staffs
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Popped in for a set lunch with friends. Choice of 3 starters mains and dessert for £10. The atmosphere was a bit quiet and clinical and the service at best was relaxed at worst actually slow and inffecient considering the place was mainly empty. The food was delicious, freshly cooked and good sized portions but the experience was spoiled by the lack of good service. Reluctant to visit again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Post House S, Manager at The Post House Stafford, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I am sorry about your delays for your lunch. I am grateful for the feedback so we can continue to strive toward eradicating these issues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    73
    57
    50
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A party to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We've enjoyed meals at the Post House and lost a few hours in the cocktail bar so it's a place we like. When my 50th birthday was on the horizon we planned a party and discovered that there are facilities for hire. Despite considering other venues in the area (Moat House for example) we plumped for the Post House - the location is ideal and the facilities excellent.

I must say that Sarah and the team were not just professional and helpful, they couldn't do enough for us. Thanks to them we partied into the wee small hours without any worries. From the room layout, menu selection, to drinks, to entertainment arrangements it was all very smooth and painless. This is family run business and they treat their hospitaility very seriously.

We had 60+ guests, although the facilities can readily handle bigger numbers than that. Many commented on the quality of the food and the service. Many of our guests weren't local and were visiting the Post House for the first time. Again, there was great feedback on the venue and it delivered a suitable wow factor.

I can't say it was cheap but it was worth every penny. You get what you pay for I guess.

Other notable mentions: we hired a band for the night (Live Wires - very very good indeed and highly recommended) and were nervous about set up, volume and number of things that could have taken the edge off proceedings. We needn't have worried about a thing. Again, this is testament to the quality of the facilities and the backroom work.

Many of our guests stayed at the Swan - again good feedback received there and as it's only a minutes's walk up the road, very convenient too.

Thanks to all at the Post House for a night to remember.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Post House S, Manager at The Post House Stafford, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
1963_MAP we are so pleased you enjoyed your party with us at The Post House Stafford. Was a great night!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Balanced Appraisal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have eaten at the Post House on several occasions and enjoyed every one of our visits. However,the last one on 26th January,2013 left quite a lot to be desired.
As has been said,anyone can have a day wherein their performance is not all one would wish but it is customary upon such events to explain such difficulties and make any apologies necessary. So onto the crux. The waiters/waitresses were all warm friendly and polite but sadly no one thought to advise them to let the diners know that there was a problem producing the covers. Two ladies seated next to us had waited an inordinate time for their meal to arrive and had complained twice about the delay before the food finally arrived.
Our starter arrived forty minutes after ordering. The starter was delicious which went some way to appeasing us for the delay,unfortunately this did not last. The mains arrived twenty-five minutes after the plates from the earlier course were collected. Apologies were made but two out of the three components on the plate were lukewarm and so we had cause for complaint again.
Usually this venue is functioning well,the staff are excellent and the food is good. On this particular lunchtime this wasn't the case and I feel that diners should have been forewarned and a reason offered.
That said,we shall return although we will be wary from hereonin and may recce before ordering.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Post House S, Manager at The Post House Stafford, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Karl R thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry for your wait time, we did have some operational problems on that particular day but I can assure you this has now been rectified. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Wedding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you are thinking of getting married in Stafford then look no further than this venue! from the moment we enquired; to the ceremony itself; the staff especially Bianca Summers (events planner) ensured that everything was planned to perfection. We chose to have the ceremony, meal and evening reception there and couldn't have made a better choice. On the day of the wedding we didn't have a single worry in the world, Bianca, Sarah and her colleagues ensured everything was ran with military precision. Guest were attended to and every enquiry swiftly dealt with. The Ceremony room was beautiful and the room for the meal was nothing short of breathtaking! the meal itself was outstanding with the venue catering for children as well as adults. Attentive and polite staff made every single guest feel part of the special day. The evening reception was excellently supported by the Post house DJ Lee Cotter who made sure every genre of music was covered and all requests were dealt with which was all topped with an excellent buffet. In between the three main events we had a well staffed large private bar at our disposal. The venue was perfect for photographs both normal and quirky and the staff kindly let us use the private cocktail bar for more snaps. The best part about this whole experience though was the price! more than affordable; it looked liked we had paid ten times what we actually had! every guest we had invited thought we had spent absolutely thousands for the event. The best part of all from my (The Grooms) perspective is that my bride had the most fantastic day of her life; spending the whole day without a single worry in the world!. Again this was all thanks to the quality of the venue and more importantly the quality of the staff. It was the perfect way to start Married life. Posthouse we thank you and look forward to coming back on our first anniversary to reminisce.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Post House S, Manager at The Post House Stafford, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. We really do appreciate your comments and are so happy you enjoyed your special day with us here at The Post House. We enjoyed having you!! Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Ps. You all looked so lovely!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visited the post house last Wednesday for the steak night.
The food was delicious, the 'house' wine was lovely and the service was very good. When asked by my partner if I could fault anything (I'm very picky) I had to answer truthfully and I happily admitted that it was faultless.
We'll defiantly be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Post House S, Manager at The Post House Stafford, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Fantastic review JCarpo thank you. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Post House Stafford also viewed

 

Been to The Post House Stafford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Post House Stafford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.