We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sky TV in all rooms ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eccleshall Road, Stafford ST16 1JJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Stafford
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sky TV in all rooms ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Been stopping at Tillington Hall for last 6-7 weeks and been very pleased with the standards.
The reception staff are 1st class and very helpful.The rooms I have stopped in are very spacious and have full Sky TV and are well maintained. The only time I used the restaurant in the evening I was a little disappointed but the buffet breakfast is very good with quality ingredients.
Location is just on edge of town but ยฃ5 taxi gets you into town or a 20minute walk.
All in all I would say my stays have been excellent and great value.

Lee

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    55
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
19
25
4
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel, no issues!! Room was lovely and clean, very spacious with decent ameneties. Nice brew making facilities, shower ok, plenty of clothes storage space. Bed was a little hard but perfectly sleepable. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was nice, good choice of food. Cooked stuff all still warm, with plenty to choose from.
Free wifi and free carpark is always great! Overall a really great stay, would definatley revommend!! Xxx

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location, staff, room and service were fine but the breakfast lets down this otherwise lovely place to stay. It is all self service and you come to expect that, if the items have been keeping warm for a while, they might not be as fresh as they could be. This went beyond that, however, and the only consolation was that, because only scrambled eggs were readily available, you need to order fried or poached ones - that's the trick...at least they are fresh!! Dried bacon and sausages sitting in bubbling grease don't inspire you first thing in the morning! You also get used to self service cereal (a very basic selection here - not even muesli), fruit juice, fruit and yoghurt but these were all very much the cheapest products available - long life yoghurts, cheap juice and tinned fruit. I wouldn't buy these at home and its so disappointing to find them at a hotel. On the plus side, the staff were, without exception, the hotel's biggest asset - all friendly, professional and dealing with a problem we had with our room door lock speedily and with good heart. We got a good deal on our stay for 3 nights - if I had paid the full normal price I would be extremely upset - they have only been Best Western for a few months so lets hope the calibre of other hotels under their umbrella spreads to Tillington Hall soon.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My last stay last autumn was very poor, i was very reluctant to stay again work booked and was out of my control. I am pleased it has improved alot since my last stay, but still does have some issues.
reception staff helpful caring looked professional, housekeeping staff the same, rooms are a little dated but they are clean warm hot water and everything you need. great value for what you pay for,
wifi good throughout the hotel. Food at night was very nice cooked well presented well. Breakfast though was a little poor the hot plates carry on cooking the food and very crispy bacon burnt food and very buttery products. but feeding alot in short period of time is understandable.
The problem is restaurant and bar staff are so slow even when quite, staff on the Tuesday night seemed more interested in filling up plastic coffee cup lids than taking orders about three tables waiting and people waiting for drinks, it took my half a larger 20 mins to come and there was no one in the bar. I had a similar situation every night of my 3 night stay. The staff are friendly but are young they need a manager to control service and direct them, and having a dedicated bar person.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meg l, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Jennie
Thank you for your positive feedback. I was on the desk when you checked in again for this visit and after hearing your comments about your previous stay I am very happy that this one was more enjoyable. It is lovely to hear that have seen the improvements, and I am very glad that had a good stay. I will pass your comments onto the chef. We will take on board your areas of critique to ensure that when you return again this has improved. Thank you again for your kind feedback, we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes
Meghan Loach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Tillington Hall as part as part of a group and will agree with other reviews in that the bar service was extremely slow.
Our sleep quality was spoiled by a hard bed and pillows, please supply a soft pillow instaed of two hard ones.
We attempted, and failed miserably, to use the TV, upon enquiring at the reception of where the instructions were I was told that they were in a bedside cabinet drawer, no sign of them anywhere, personally I think that they should be placed where guests can see them, such as the coffee table or next to the TV.
We would have enjoyed our latte's in the bar more if the spoons that came with them were not teaspoons which were the same length as the depth of our drinks.
At breakfast I asked for some toast to be brought to our table, despite the menu stating that this could be achieved on request I was shown the do it yourself toaster, more staff training so obviously required.
As the title states, little things do mean a lot to a paying guest.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meg l, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for the experience you had whilst staying with us. I will talk to them team about the bar not being manned and I can assure you this will not happen again if you chose to return. We do understand that everybody has different tastes and different things they like, but I am unhappy to hear that you had restless nightโ€™s sleep. We will take into consideration your comments about the guest directories, teaspoons and breakfast, we will make sure that these areas are improved. Please do come and stay with us again.

Best Wishes
Meghan Loach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice little hotel, staff were polite and rooms comfortable. couple of minor issues with my room on first night, which were reported and rectified for me the next day. Restaurant in the hotel also worth booking a table for as the food was very nice.

Room Tip: Top floor if you can, Book a table at the restautant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meg l, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and I am glad all of your issues were sorted out for you. We hope you come and stay with us again soon.

Best Wishes
Meghan Loach
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel

Address: Eccleshall Road, Stafford ST16 1JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweet dreams in Stafford! -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel in Stafford offers a serene backdrop for any stay in the Heart of England. In a leafy setting that offers peace and quiet for romantic getaways, weddings or business breaks, the hotel is as conveniently placed as it is pretty, within easy reach of Birmingham International & Manchester Airports and close-but-not-too-close to Junction 14 of the M6. With a choice of 91 recently refurbished bedrooms, flexible conference & events facilities to suit all requirements and a lounge, bar and restaurant to take care of your taste buds, you'll have everything you need during your stay or stop-over. Step into Staffordshire! -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Located in the borough of Stafford, BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel is perfectly placed for day trips to some of the areas must-visit attractions: Things to do in Stafford -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Landmarks and getting around โ€ขAlton Towers (22.5 miles) โ€ขCadbury World (34.9 miles) โ€ขPotteries (16.8 miles) โ€ขShugborough Hall (7 miles) โ€ขWestern Park (15 miles) There are lots of shopping opportunities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stafford
Stafford Best Western
BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tillington Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.