We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quality Hotel, Shame about the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Swan Hotel to your Saves list
The Swan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   46-46a Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Stafford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Quality Hotel, Shame about the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed overnight while visiting Stafford and ate evening meal in the bar, and breakfast next day.

Accommodation was excellent, very large room, although the bed was definitely a double and looked a bit lost given the size of the room.

Food was disappointing, the lamb burger tasted like a birds eye grill steak.

Breakfast the next day was confused by a menu which displayed prices when we thought breakfast was included (which it was). Full English should have been on a smaller plate to make it look less sparse, and one cup of coffee was quite miserly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    76
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
107
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth Uk
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Whilst out with elderly parents in Stafford at the weekend we called into the Swan for a light lunch and I have to say I was blown away by the place. The outside doesn't really do it justice but inside - WOW! Great character and full of history (ask at reception and they will print you off the full history of the hotel; a great touch). We sat in bar overlooking the garden and close to the beautiful roaring log burner. I thought the service was very good, a lovely balanced menu catering for both lighter and full lunches and the food was very good although the smoked haddock rarebit was a little on the meager side in terms of it's value for money. We walked into the restaurant just for a nose, and had a couple of staff asking us if we needed any help which was good. I would definitely recommend this hotel for dining; didnt see the rooms so cant comment on the accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on two occasions whilst attending functions in Stafford town centre.
The rooms are lovely and unique due to the age of the hotel and the staff very friendly.
The bar and bistro are also very good.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A one night stay impressed. It was intimidating, as someone else noted, to arrive on Saturday night and have to battle through the packed bars to reception - taxis drop you at the car park at the rear. Service was impeccable, a quiet table was found for us for a late dinner. Food delicious, from a wide choice, good value and wine not too expensive. Large room and huge bathroom comfortable - the rooms at the front overlook the pedestrian street which was not noisy. It is an historic building so rooms perhaps a litle old-fashioned, not a bad thing. It does have a lift. Breakfast good with all the usual choices. Lots of locals came in to the coffee lounge and bars for Sunday breakfast. It was packed to the rafters on Saturday night, but no problems and staff handled the crush with aplomb. Book by phone direct with the hotel to get best price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here while visiting relatives at Christmas and had an excellent time!We arrived in the afternoon and nothing was too much trouble. The room overlooked the main street and it was lovely to sit with a bottle of wine watching the world go by! We have stayed here a couple of times and have had no problems! I could imagine it would be quite busy if you arrived late evening as it is a very popular place in Stafford town.

Room Tip: Ask for one that looks over Stafford High Street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Dayed one night in The Swan due to business in Stafford. I had a single room which was compact and bijou but spotless and very comfortable. I had my evening meal in the hotel restaurant where the staff were very welcoming and attentive. The menu choice was super and my chosen meal was faultless. I also tried out a local beer recommended by the waiter and was very impressed. Breakfast lived up to the standard the rest of my stay and I would be very happy to stay again at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Arriving at 10pm on a Saturday is not recommended. Quite intimidating walking through all the revellers in the bar. Room itself was fine, nothing special, nothing wrong. Woke to the smell of drains which permeated the entire hotel. Breakfast was an absolute shambles. The staff were pleasant enough but really incompetent. Had to ask 3 times for a pot of tea. My wife had nearly finished her breakfast by the time mine arrived. They got both of our breakfast orders wrong. Really poor standard of service. Shame too because the food was good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLMilwich, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit to The Swan Hotel. We are a busy town centre hotel and bar - Saturday night is one of our busiest nights of the week and unfortunately at 10.00 pm there will be a lot of customers milling around. I am sorry if you felt intimidated by this. I need to investigate the smell of drains and the awful service you received at Breakfast - I apolgoise for this - this is not our usual service and I thank you for bringing these points to my attention.
Chris Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 46-46a Greengate Street, Stafford ST16 2JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Stafford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
#6 Family Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan has been providing a warm welcome at the heart of the beautiful county of Staffordshire for nearly 300 years. Nestled in the centre of Stafford's historic and pretty high street, our lovingly restored coaching inn now acts as a vibrant, modern hub for stylish accommodation,dining, relaxed coffee shop, social and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Stafford
The Swan Hotel Stafford, Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.