We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai Food and authentic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Rainbow

Thai Rainbow
15 Bird St, Lichfield WS13 6PW, England
01543 264209
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 120 Restaurants in Lichfield
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Wellington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Food and authentic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Food was fantastic, service was very good and pricing is fine. Like everything in life you get what you pay for. So yes a little more than going to the chippy but you get more!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    49
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Always good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

As I now live in Australia I haven't eaten at Thai Rainbow for a while but was back in Lichfield and decided to go back. As always, the service is excellent and the food quality first rate. We had a banquet as there were 5 of us eating and all the dishes were well prepared and presented.
Will definitely return when i am next back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No Value for money - Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We ordered a takeaway from here which was our first time trying the place. We ordered two starters and 1 main and 1 side to share between two of us. I rang and ordered and they said it would be ready in 10 mins....this straight away made me worry. The ribs which were £6 were ok, but a tiny portion and hardly any meat for £6. It was the main which shocked us. We order noodles in a spicy sauce. There was no sauce. They looked horrible and tasted worst. No flavour, a very weird soggy texture. Just plan RANK! and they charged £5 for them!!! The main beef dish we had was ok but nothing amazing. Overall we just felt properly ripped off. Totally overpriced for what you get.....much better quality at the Crystall Inn Takeaway for half the price....which I know is a chinese and not Thai but they are very similar.
So its safe to say we will not be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai favourites in a lovely setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I visited Thai Rainbow earlier this week for dinner with a colleague whilst on a business trip in Lichfield. We arrived to be greeted by very friendly staff and were quickly attended too with a bowl of Thai prawn crackers and drinks order taken. We chose 4 dishes - a pad thai, a Thai fragrant rice, a lamb mussaman and a beef green curry which we shared between us. All of the food was very tasty and portions were generous. The restaurant was quite busy and had a lovely atmosphere. Having travelled a few times to Thailand I can say that the food was very authentic. Will definitely go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have always had lovely food & service at the Thai Rainbow and last night was no exception. We were made very welcome, with pleasant attentive service. We were there quite early but the place was soon filling up and buzzing - a nice atmosphere. Our food was wonderful (the veggie set menu), and the Thai Red Curry was one of the most delicious dishes I have ever eaten. Really excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Rainbow also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to Thai Rainbow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Rainbow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.