We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, over-attentive waiters!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lal Bagh

Lal Bagh
9 Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PW, England
01543 262697
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 120 Restaurants in Lichfield
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are a well established restaurant, where we strive to serve our customers, the best, the finest, the freshest. We take our customers review/feedback seriously. We always improve, where-ever needed. We always welcome our customers review/feedback. If you have any complaints or such, please contact us first to solve the matter, before you write a review on here, as bad review/s does effect our business. We do take any complaints or such seriously and we will deal with it accordingly with rightly manner. We would like to thank you for your customs and support.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely food, over-attentive waiters!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We've eaten here on a number of occasions, but of late we have found the waiters to be hurrying us through our meal. On both the two previous visits staff have attempted to clear our table whilst some of our diners were still eating!
Where is their service etiquette?
There is a deluge of drink queries also. The problem is there is not one dedicated waiter for each table, causing the same questions to be asked of you by ALL staff!
However, the food is of a good standard and tasty also, and the staff are friendly, although a bit pushy on occasion...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    47
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Spoilt for choice in Lichfield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife & I love our curries having been born & bred in Birmingham We are fortunate to have so many good curry restaurants locally in Tamworth & Lichfield We have used the Lal Bagh before for family meals & take aways Last Sunday we went for the Special Banquet ( also available on Wednesday) We had a great meal in lovely surroundings the decor has been updated & there were some lovely "Xmas" decorations The staff were pleasant & helpful & remembered us from past visits The Manager is also in attendance & makes a point of asking if everything was OK usually followed by a complimentary sniffter! I hope they maintain this high standard because competition is strong from other restaurants in the city centre Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine Indian food in a contemporary setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have been eating at the Lal Bagh for many years and have consistanty found it to be the best Indian restaurant in the city, if not one of the best overall restaurants in Lichfield.

Lichfield has a wide selection of restaurants offering cuisine from around the world so to build a long standing reputation of excellence is no easy task.

Mr Hassain and all of the staff at The Lal Bagh have managed to do this with ease in a number of ways, the decor is contemporary and inviting, the food, from a wide and varied meun, is always of an excellent quality and the staff always go the extra mile to help with recommendations ensuring that every visit is a special event. In all their attention to detail is of the very highest standard because they care about the food they are serving, the service and the surroundings.

It is for these reasons that we will be eating at the Lal Bagh for many years to come.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopwas, United Kingdom
1 review
“Evening out mid week.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Both me and my wife went on a Wednesday evening, really nice place.
Clean, modern but not over the top.
The staff were great along with the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wednesday special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We have not eaten here for a while but went on Wednesday for their Banquet. Very friendly staff remembered us and were greeted by the owner. Three course meal excellent especially the shami kebab and chat chana starters and nan bread. Very generous portions all well prepared. Service excellent and value superb. Must visit more often.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lal Bagh also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to Lal Bagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lal Bagh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.