We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and very enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby Cantonese Restaurant

Ruby Cantonese Restaurant
29 St. John Street, Lichfield WS13 6NU, England
01543 251144
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 120 Restaurants in Lichfield
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value and very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We went for the buffet menu (eat as much as you can) @14.95 per person between four of us a choice of 6 starters and 5 mains
The restaurant was really busy but we was not rushed in any way so a really enjoyable experience full recommended

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    26
    13
    8
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Lovely food in a great location in Lichfield.Staff are nice too. Would definitely recommend to anyone who loves chinese food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food & Service always fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have been to the Ruby many times (including New Years's Eve - absolutely fantastic set menu and great value). We do not have the same things every time we go, and the meal is always amazing, all 4 members of the family adore the experience each time! We also like that you can see into the kitchen and know that it looks clean and well run.
The staff are always very helpful, friendly and efficient - top marks in that category!
You can never taste MSG in their dishes, and the flavours are always clean and fresh.
One of the best Chinese restaurants I have experienced in the UK (or rather outside China).
I know many people who share our love of this excellent value eatery, so you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Still as welcoming as we remember from 20 years ago.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We hadn't visited the Ruby for a very long time, mainly because we had moved further away from it during the past 20 years; and having travelled extensively in the far east, I was confident I could rustle up a satisfactory Cantonese meal. Well how wrong could I be?

My husband was attempting to cheer me up so booked a table at the Ruby for last Friday evening, which apparently was their last New Year celebration banquet evening. We arrived early but were shown to a table immediately by the manager Tommy, and after three waiters discussed the menu with us, we opted for the banquet with a couple of special requests. It is the most amazing Tardis of a place, going back and round unexpected corners. Happily, we were seated right next to the kitchen, so we could watch the deft chefs preparing the fare. When the starter arrived, it took nearly an hour to relish that and I thought my appetite was already sated, but no, the main courses arrived and kept arriving, including the special dishes we had mentioned. It was all delicious. None was wasted!

The tables were filling up rapidly and it was obvious that many customers were regulars and knew where to sit and acknowledged the people sitting at other tables. It was a very convivial atmosphere, especially when the 'unicorn' dancers came round, accompanied by a gong played by Tommy and cymbals played by a large chef. It was a very happy evening.

As we have a long drive home, we left early and found many people queuing for tables, so if you are going to the Ruby, I would think it essential to book. You will not be disappointed.

It will not be such a long time before we visit again, as the chef has promised to show me how he makes his delicious Fu Yung, my husband's favourite.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“ruby lichfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

brilliant food never had a bad meal and we go a lot and. family run restaurant very friendly service great must go if visiting lichfield

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to Ruby Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.