We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A damn fine gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Damn Fine Cafe

Damn Fine Cafe
16 Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England
+44 1543 268934
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 135 Restaurants in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, Vegetarian, Contemporary, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Delicious fresh food prepared and cooked right in front of your eyes by our award winning and fully qualified Chefs. Damn fine breakfasts, freshly made soups, lunches, sandwiches , hot paninis, hot roast pork, teas, coffees, cakes, takeaway menu, children's menu and much more. We Serve the best Champagne breakfast in Lichfield .We cater for vegetarians, and offer gluten free, wheat free and dairy free choices. Bespoke dining with advanced notice of your requirements, damn fine cafe is available for evening hire with a range of food and drinks menus to choose from. We offer alfresco dining, we are fully licensed to serve alcoholic beverages, we also offer wheelchair and pushchair access. During very busy periods a call back service is available via your mobile telephone so you can carry on shopping in the many boutique shops of the beautiful and historic city of Lichfield until a table becomes available.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A damn fine gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

what a truly lovely place to dine,always busy but well worth the wait if there isnt a table available,the bacon,brie,cranbery on a pannini is my favourite,looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    74
    18
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Good selection of food for veggies - breakfast, soup, wraps, huge salads. Probably the widest selection in Lichfield for veggies. Can get crowded and noisy, pleased to see the chef has calmed down and is no longer adding to the noise. Free soup sample on entering (veggie and gluten free). I don't need to avoid gluten, but good to see a place trying to meet needs.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Another visit to the Damn Fine Cafe and another superb breakfast. Everything is right, the food,the coffee, the price, the chat and its warm.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Food in here is always fantastic whether it's an all day breakfast or tasty baguettes. Soup of the day is always very popular. This place is constantly busy with queues for a table always at the door. It won't be long before they have to expand. Great place, great food, great team.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just as it says - damn fine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We found the cafe by accident on our first trip to Lichfield a year ago and have been going there ever since! The food is delicious - especially the soup which you can sample in cute mini teacups on your arrival. The menu is diverse and the service is second to none - Suzan, Tony and their staff go above and beyond to make your visit an experience you will enjoy.Whether you are a family on a day out, lunching with friends or wanting tea and cake over a quick business chat this is the place to go and whilst you wait for your food (which is never very long) there is plenty to look at as the walls - and ceiling - are covered in art and curios!
We even met our wedding photographer there! Grabbing a bite to eat has never been more fun - this is a must on anyone's list of damn fine places to visit in Lichfield!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Damn Fine Cafe also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to Damn Fine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damn Fine Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.