We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but tired, awful food in the pub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Lichfield

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Lichfield to your Saves list
Premier Inn Lichfield
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Lichfield
Fine Lane | Fradley, Lichfield WS13 8RD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Lichfield
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Friendly but tired, awful food in the pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I made a major mistake when booking this hotel, I didn't check the pub. It's a four square pub. Cheap and cheerful microwave food. Nice friendly service but just terrible quality cheap food.
The inn itself is a bit tired, bathroom has been refreshed but the furniture in the bedrooms has been varnished to death. Comfortable bed as always and a very quite room (so far anyway). Have recently stayed at the awful premier inn in broad street Birmingham and the lovely premier inn, Leicester. This one is somewhere in the middle. Has to be said the staff at both the pub and inn where very helpful, warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    38
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
42
37
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

stayed here on 27th Oct with family. Within easy access from A38, although nothing else around. The Inn did its job, provided adequate facilities for an overnight stay. The 'pub' next door was just that, nothing flash but food was okay (typical pub food really) reasonably priced and it did get busy. Would definitely use this Inn again should the need arise. Close to The National Arboretum which was a 5-10min car journey and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This inn provides all you could want from a no-frills hotel. The bits that really matter, the room, the bed, the bathroom were better than many much more expensive hotels. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the Fradley Arms next door has an extensive and very reasonably priced pub grub menu, and welcomes children. Even though the hotel is near a major road, the noise is barely audible in the room. We booked in advance, on line, with no cancellation for £29.00 which you can't beat for value. The reception staff were so good that we remarked how well they had been trained, offering us advice on where to go in Lichfield which is about 3 miles away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was my first experience in a Premier Inn and it exceeded my expectation by the bucket load. From Check-in to Check-out the staff are professional, warm and caring. The rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable.

The 'but...' relates to the restaurant facility which is seperate to the Premier Inn ( though attached to the building - if that makes sense :) ) Dreadful - No Customer Service and the quality of the food is very poor. - If you have a car there are plenty of places to eat locally, so this shouldn't put you off staying but don't be tempted to plan a weekend around eating at the Fradley Arms - you will be disappointed.

I'd stay at the Premier Inn again, if in the area, just eat elsewhere ( Highly recommend 'The Plough' at Huddlesford for Dinner - excellent service and fabulous food - about 10 mins from the Premier Inn)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

very helpful staff, went out of their way to assist me and were always smiling. Comfortable room, well heated and very comfy bed, which always helps when travelling. Should i ever have need to be in this area of the country in the future i would quite happily return to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWCASTLE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Excellent choice to stay if you are visiting the Arboretum 10 min drive away . Hotel really lovely. my husband is obsessed with car parks ( always worries his car will be damaged ) but this car park is totally fine with plenty of spaces . The pub next door served good quality food at very reasonable prices which is a bonus when staying at a hotel as the price of food can up a cheap night stay. we visited the arboretum for a personal visit & as many of my family will also be visiting it in the coming months I will highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: we paid £29 for the night booked 2 weeks before travelling .... excellent value ....great room .. n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Reception staff at this hotel were very professional and welcoming and our room was large, clean and comfortable but with a distinct smell of cigarette smoke which seems to be a common feature in many hotel rooms. My only gripe would be the cost of the room - at £77 much more than £29 TV adverts. I know such adverts are preceded by 'from' before the room rate but there has to be a limit surely!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Lichfield

Address: Fine Lane | Fradley, Lichfield WS13 8RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Premier Inn Lichfield you will find everything you need for a good night's sleep. All rooms are ensuite with a shower and bath. Our rooms can accommodate double, twins or family's to suit those away on business or leisure. Wi-fi access available throughout the hotel. Close the the National Memorial Arboretum, Lichfield Cathedral and Drayton Manor Thomas Land! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Lichfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Lichfield Hotel Lichfield
Premier Inn Lichfield Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Lichfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.