We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holly Bush

Holly Bush
Little Hay Lane, Lichfield WS14 0QA, England
01543 481217
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 124 Restaurants in Lichfield
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Went for a Sunday lunch. Prices were reasonable and, for the money, the food was pretty good. Exactly what you would expect in a chain-pub re menu and surroundings, but the service was friendly and professional and the food was pretty good, well cooked, firm vegetables, nicely presented.

For what it is, would definitely go back but with expectations of a decent reasonably-priced pub meal, nothing more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“could do a lot better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Just another Chef & Brewer. tired interior, stained tables. Asked for salad instead of chips, got a dried up garnish only edible with mayonnaise which took so long to arrive the meal got cold.
Very few people eating but a wedding party arrived, not enough staff to give attention to others.
Hope the wedding party make return visits because I won't be.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First visit for food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Went to this restaurant/pub on Friday night 30th May arriving at 8.30pm. We had not intended to go here but our intended eating establishment had a 1 hour wait for a table!!! We were well pleased that tables were available and we were shown to our table straight away. I have to say the service was very good and the choice of food on the menu excellent. There were three of us present and we all had 3 courses throughout the evening, which were served when we wanted them allowing for a gap between courses. All of the staff were very friendly and attended our table at regular intervals to check everything was alright. Would definitely recommend for the food quality and friendliness of the staff. The décor - typical pub.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First visit for many years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Excellent food served by John who was pleasant attentive and smart.
Fabulous menu at reasonable prices, I had Sea Bass with scallops, which were very delicious and cooked to perfection followed by apple and blackberry crumble with creamy custard- Scrummy!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well done Holly Bush!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Have visited this popular country pub in Little Hay several times over the last few years and found the food satisfactory but, not exceptional. Sometimes the service could be slow too. However, we ate there mid-week and were very impressed with the improvement. Reservation was made on-line. A friendly face greeted us on arrival & we were shown to a cosy table in a corner of the restaurant. Drinks arrived promptly as did the starters which were excellent. Very well presented & very fresh products. Mains did not disappoint with all three of us agreeing that it was a very high standard. All credit to the chef here who has brought about a dramatic upgrade in the calibre of the extensive menu. So pleasing to see a team trying hard to please their customers - well done!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holly Bush also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to Holly Bush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holly Bush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.