We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Causeway

The Causeway
15-17 Dam St, Lichfield WS13 6AE, England
+44 1543 257520
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 124 Restaurants in Lichfield
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
493 helpful votes 493 helpful votes
“excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

excellent venue. First rate home cooking.
The only negative points are that the vegetarian selection is a bit limited and they do not accept Credit Cards.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cannock
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Refurbished”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Another top quality breakfast this morning. And to top it off the place has been refurbished and looks great. Apart from the bit of painting that the chef did. I'm sure he would be happy to show you if you can't find it. As ever, top quality food and very welcoming service. Can't fault the place at all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Great food (if you're a veggie, you must try their veggie breakfast!), good value, lovely friendly staff and quaint venue: what more can you ask? Oh, and the chunky chips are brilliant as well! Me and my husband have tried out most of the restaurants and cafes in Lichfield, being frequent visits to the City. We recently found this one and have tried out the carvery and a few other meals. Now we don't go anywhere else ...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best small cafe for a quick meal in Lichfield !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Me and my business partner attend the causeway twice a week absolutely fantastic recommend it to all my friends and enemy's.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tastiest Sunday lunch I've ever eaten.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

we regularly come here for our Sunday dinner. Plenty of meat to choose from and the selection of vegetables is good. Its always been piping hot and everything is cooked to a very high standard. The room itself is welcoming and warm with friendly staff. The price for a Sunday dinner is fair for this quality. The soft drinks are a little pricy especially as the glasses are quite small. We drive out especially for this dinner and after a stroll through the town its a really nice finishing touch. I would recommend. I haven't eaten anything other than Sunday dinner here but i could imagine its going to be tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Causeway also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Causeway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.