We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden, child-friendly gem in Lichfield” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coffee House

The Coffee House
7 Breadmarket Street, Lichfield, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 124 Restaurants in Lichfield
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden, child-friendly gem in Lichfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited Lichfield for the food festival with our 11month old daughter. Although The Coffee Shop looked full, there was lots more room at the back with really comfy seats, with staff and customers alike going out of their way to find us somewhere to sit. We shared a selection of wonderful toasties, salads and delicious homemade cakes as well as huge glasses of coffee/milkshakes that put well-known coffeehouse chains to shame. Our baby felt really at home especially in the very comfortable highchairs and our whole lunch experience was a breath of fresh air compared to some recent child-unfriendly places we have visited. Will definitely come back here whenever we're in Lichfield.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Extremely Pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is an extremely pleasant space to have a reviving coffee, a mid morning recharge, light lunch or afternoon break.
Do not be put off from what appears to be the size of the establishment from the outside. There is seating at the front of the coffee house, then a serving counter and then at the rear a lovely lounge area. In the lounge area you'll find comfy seating and coffee tables.
It is what it says on the label, primarily a coffee house but serves teas and other soft drinks. Along with these go snacks, light lunches and afternoon teas(homemade cakes). Everything is well presented and from what I've tried tasty with it. This is not a fast food establishment, salads, sandwiches, baguettes etc will be made to order. You can linger over your coffee a while whilst having a look at the days papers that are available or connecting to the free wi-fi!
They have high chairs for those of you with small children, though there isn't a lot of space for prams and buggies. Unfortunately because of the height of the shop floor(much of the area has listed buildings), there are a few steps at the entrance, so for wheelchairs it is inaccessible.
It definitely makes a change from all the "chain" coffee establishments.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Favourite Sunday coffee house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great staff, clean and comfortable premises, very welcoming.
We often visit Lichfield at the weekend and this place has become a "must visit" coffee shop, with its delicious coffee and cakes and great staff, plus Sunday papers to read while no-one pesters you!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relaxing coffee Place. Excellent for people watching.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend introduced me to the coffee house last week as its his new favourite place. I had a very nice cappuccino and felt at home sitting by the window people watching. I didn't eat there but the cakes looked good. I would highly recommend it if you are visiting Lichfield.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great staff, great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We come to The Coffee House regularly and always have a lovely welcome! Nice, relaxing atmosphere and the best coffee!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee House also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.