We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top prices that service did not warrant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Netherstowe House Restaurant

Netherstowe House Restaurant
Netherstowe Lane, Lichfield, England
01543 254270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 120 Restaurants in Lichfield
Price range: $31 - $47
Cuisines: Steakhouse, International, Brasserie, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Private Dining
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top prices that service did not warrant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We thought we would try Netherstowe restaurant for my birthday having read some good reviews.
Not sure if we booked on a bad night or weather us being a booking of 12 they were pushed.
The starters arrived and those that had soup myself included were just finishing and they bring in bread.
We then order drinks and they forgot to bring them all having waited 10min! We question the 2 missing and they say they are just coming down to which they go upstairs order them and bring them down, why not just say sorry we forgot?
Main meals come we order Steaks they come no problem the chips some were very Burnt to which one of our guests comments this looks very burnt and the waitress says its supposed to be like that as they are cooked with sugar , we ask the waiter who comes in after and he says sorry would you like me to change them, 10min after the sauces come out most of the steaks were gone and then after that onion rings , all seemed out of sync and should have come together,

The total cost of this was just shy of £800 so by no means cheap! I'm sure if the service matched the quality of the food which I have to say once it came was lovely it would be a nice night out, but for us dissapointing and we won't be rushing back.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherstoweHouse, Manager at Netherstowe House Restaurant, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. At Netherstowe House we aim to express excellence in the most inclusive, accessible, genuine, and hospitable way possible – in other words, with open arms. We absolutely understand that in genuine hospitality, one size fits one, and pride ourselves on dealing with each individual guest on a one on one basis, going the extra mile to accommodate their bespoke requirements whilst offering service with soul. The Curbourgh White Onion and Sage Soup with Cashell Blue Cheese Croutons you ordered is not served with bread as standard but we were delighted to arrange this for you without delay once you had requested it subsequent to your soup being served. As your guests did not wish to order any wine to enjoy with their meal we were pleased to accommodate your preference for individual guests in your large party to sporadically order drinks on an ad-hoc basis throughout the night - including whilst your food was being served – however all these beverages did need to be individually prepared in our bar, intermittently collected once ready and transported back down to the Steak Cellar where you were dining. Set in the atmospheric surroundings of Lichfield’s only vaulted restaurant, the Steak Cellar at Netherstowe House is the city’s most unique and intimate dining experience and as such we are unable to serve large parties such as yours on mass simultaneously and so rather do so in professionally paced prompt waves. As clarified on the night, due to poor crops of potatoes this year starch levels are very high which sometimes results in dark – but still delicious – chip skins when cooked. Our chips are not cooked in sugar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    27
    22
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have been to Netherstowe House before and thoroughly enjoyed it. The ambience is very homely and great for a night out with friends. The service in the past has been first class and on this occasion all started out well as we were met outside and shown to the lounge for drinks. It was then that things got a little disappointing. The service in the restaurant was not up to the standard experienced at the start of the evening. The white wine was poured without being asked if we would like to try it and the red was spilt down my class and onto the tablecloth. One of our party's starter arrived incomplete and we had to ask for the brioche that should have accompanied it. By the time it arrived the starter was almost finished. There were 4 in our party and the starters were not brought out together and there was a little wait before the rest arrived. As a result the food whilst warm was not hot. Overall the food was disappointing, it was not bad, but not as good as we were expecting from this fine dining restaurant. We did not bring these things to the attention of the staff on the night which was a mistake, but were were enjoying ourselves and let it go. We like this restaurant and would definitely go back giving them the benefit of the doubt on this occasion, but would hope things have improved next time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherstoweHouse, Manager at Netherstowe House Restaurant, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
At Netherstowe House our goal is to offer the very best in first class hospitality with a smile whilst providing excellent products at reasonable prices to every customer, every time in a unique homely setting of comfort, style and happiness. I am therefore delighted that you were personally welcomed upon arrival by our friendly host before enjoying drinks in our lounge. We are however accountable for the precision and continuity of every aspect of your service from arrival to departure and I apologise if you felt let down on this occasion. Head Chef and his Kitchen Brigade are passionate about creating flavoursome, classic dishes with a modern twist, freshly produced on site using the finest seasonal ingredients and they are proud to have achieved a 97% customer satisfaction score for their Fine Dining cuisine in November 2012. Moving forward we understand that excellence is a journey rather than a destination and we will continue to evolve and strive to constantly improve. We look forward to welcoming you back to Netherstowe House soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Downton Abbey in Lichfield !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Do not be confused at passing by industrial estates and supermarkets and then entering into a 1960s housing estate. There is a walled vacuum of professionalism awaiting you once you have entered the gates of Netherstowe House. Something must be right as we have been twice in a month!

First impressions are always important and the twice we have been we were met both times in the car park with clip board wielding greeter wearing a smart suit with an air of authority. Very impressive you may think except our name was not on the list on the second occasion and sent the poor fellow into a backward walking confusion as if to stay stop there until I can verify your presence ! Once you have been verified as a bonafide diner you will then be seated in a small lounge with an atmosphere of a dental waiting room while you order your aperitif. Excellent cocktails and chilled champagnes as others sit whispering politely and trying to look at ease in the austere furniture. Once you have chosen your feast you will then be whisked at just the right moment to a beautifully ironed table and given the slight impression by the waiters in their white gloves that they are under study actors from downstairs at Downton Abbey with the same era decor to match.

The food is what you would expect from such a well polished operation and well presented. Probably the best wine list in the north Midlands. One observation if not a word of warning is that you will be offered a sorbet to clean your pallet in between courses but if there are 2 of you this tiny glass of flavoured ice will cost you £7.90...They very kindly removed mine off the bill.

I presume like all businesses Netherstowe is set up to make money. However they are a little precious with their booking system. We tried to book for 7.30 and was told that only 7 or 8.30 were available. We said that we would leave it but then changed our minds and phoned back and booked the 7pm. Of course the inevitable was there was not a soul there when we arrived the restaurant was not full and I can't see why arriving for 7.30 would have made any difference except to their bank balance as they very nearly missed our £110 !

Bon appetite

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherstoweHouse, Manager at Netherstowe House Restaurant, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. What is most meaningful to Netherstowe House is creating positive, uplifting outcomes for human experiences and human relationships. We believe, business, like life, is all about how you make people feel. The human beings who animate our restaurant therefore have far more impact on whether we succeed than any of the fresh food we serve, the décor of our dining rooms or the bottles of wine in our cellars. With this in mind I am delighted that you were personally greeted upon arrival by our friendly host and received a warm welcome with excellent cocktails and chilled champagne aperitifs in our cosy lounge before enjoying the food lovingly prepared by our Kitchen Brigade and the attentive, professional service from our Restaurant team. Moving forward there is little purpose in us trying to become the biggest hotel and restaurant in the city as it is much more valuable to become the best and the most respected – this is our focus. Our guests are our priority and we will continually strive to provide them with a quality experience which is second to none by offering the very best in first class service with a smile whilst providing excellent products at reasonable prices to every guest, every time in a unique homely setting of sumptuous comfort, style and happiness. This philosophy is what drives our business and is the backdrop to every decision we make for the establishment. We are therefore proud to offer a delicious homemade Champagne and Elderflower sorbet on our menu, to enhance our guests experience by cleansing their palate in-between courses, and continue to put a premium on quality rather than quantity by strategically choosing to cap our restaurant bookings at a level - below our potential capacity - to ensure optimum hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The ideal venue for a special celebration. Went for afternoon tea and it was equally as good as the Ritz - London. The staff were very polite, service was excellent and the quality of the food was superb. Will be going again soon for lunch or dinner and may be an overnight stay. It is well worth travelling the distance to visit this hotel and restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Splendid property with fantastic service and food. Netherstowe House has a very special feel to it and makes any celebration perfect.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Netherstowe House Restaurant also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to Netherstowe House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Netherstowe House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.