We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Netherstowe House Restaurant

Netherstowe House Restaurant
Netherstowe Lane, Lichfield, England
01543 254270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 120 Restaurants in Lichfield
Price range: $31 - $47
Cuisines: Steakhouse, International, Brasserie, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Private Dining
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We booked a table in their Fine Dinning restaurant and we were not disappointed. As we drove up we were greeted in the car park and taken into the hotel. The service was outstanding from everyone we came into contact with. The food was very good. This is well worth a visit. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    27
    22
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great cellar & afternoon tea!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I have been here a few times, but never to eat in the fine dining restaurant. The cheese cellar is lovely. It's a quirky little space with a great wine list, some reasonably priced ports, and a good selection of cheeses. Little details do let it down though- for example the butter coming straight from the fridge :-(

The afternoon tea in the restaurant is delightful!!! Great selection of tea and treats. It's a bit pricey, when there are equally good afternoon teas elsewhere in the town, but the surroundings are nice and the service is attentive! Lovely for he ladies!

Reservations a must.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

From the moment we arrived the evening was a great experience. Being greeted at the door by name showws a great deal of professionalism which continued throughout the night.
The staff are immaculate and very well trained with great knowledge of the product.
We ate down in the cellar which is a fascinating journey back in time with themed rooms from the war years.
The food was beautifully presented and of very high quality. All in all a wonderful restaurant which deserves to be number one in Lichfield.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of Lichfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We visited this hotel on Saturday 7th January for my Partners Birthday meal.
We booked over the phone a week before and the lady taking the booking was very polite and happy to meet any special requests we had.
We found this hotel quite by chance when searching Trip Advisor, having lived in Lichfield all my life, I didn't even know it existed until last week - What a find!

We were met on the car park and shown into the restaurant where our coats were taken, we were then shown down to the cellar where we had booked a private room for our dinner.
The Champagne we had ordered was served as we were taken through to our table.
The cosy and private atmosphere was fantastic and helped us all to relax and enjoy the evening - The room we were in held the 8 of us perfectly and we were not cramped at all.
The wide choice of menu, both food and drink, is brilliant, all of the Party opted for steaks as our mains and we were not disappointed at all.
They were all cooked to perfection with 'melt in the mouth' quality.
The waitress monitored us throughout ensuring that the champagne flutes were never empty, and the superb red wine we had also ordered was poured out whenever our glasses ran dry.
After being served dessert ( again a wonderful selection and superb quality) we were shown upstairs to a drawing room where we had after dinner drinks to finish off what was a perfect evening.
I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wishing to have a private meal with friends or family, given the sheer quality of food, drink and service, this restaurant is not over priced at all.
We shall be returning here very soon as I can not wait to go back!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“What a lovely place! Traditional English tea at its best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

Received a gift voucher for Afternoon Tea for Christmas and booked in for this afternoon! An absolute find tucked away in the middle of Lichfield! Staff on hand welcomed us at the car, escorted into a beautiful building, knowledgable and caring staff on hand to make for a lovely afternoon! Well worth the money and can't wait to go back! Would recommend for any tea and cake fanatic! The food smelt lovely for those who fancy a more traditional meal!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Netherstowe House Restaurant also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to Netherstowe House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Netherstowe House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.