We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very chic and unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spark Lichfield

The Spark Lichfield
19 Tamworth Street, Lichfield WS13 6JP, England (Formerly The Spark Cafe Bar and Restaurant)
01543898252
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 120 Restaurants in Lichfield
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, British, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: By day, The Spark is a continental cafe bar open for brunch, lunch and coffee. Come the weekend, we open the restaurant at night with an a la carte menu formal dining. Our chefs cook your dishes to order using quality ingredients from our local suppliers, giving us Taste of Staffordshire accreditation. Our drinks menu features wine from a local wine merchants, and espresso coffee sourced from an independent supplier. Whether you're visiting us for a pit-stop or enjoying a special dinner, we warmly welcome you to relax in our unique atmosphere.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very chic and unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed our recent visit to the Spark. We were made to feel extremely welcome and the food was fantastic. If you want bog standard pub food then don't bother coming here-it's too good for that! Food tasted so fresh. We've been in only once before for coffee and that was lovely, so thought we'd give the menu an whirl. We were not disappointed!

Highly recommended

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hello Amiepops,

Thank you for your lovely review, we're thrilled you think we're 'chic and unique'. Hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    36
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hednesford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“PROBABLY the best coffee shop in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Fed up with the chain coffee shops and mcdonaldalisation of the hot drink experience? Venture down to the spark and experience the fantastic independent coffee shop. a great range of drinks to the fab cakes and biscults and we haven't even mentioned the fish finger sandwiches. A great place to meet up or go on your own to chill out. The spark has become my favourite place to go out. Can't rate this place high enough and all credit to the owners for what they have achieved.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hello Kevin N,

Thanks very much for your lovely review - we're so happy to read we're your favourite place to hang out, and that you love the coffee shop side of The Spark.

See you soon and thanks again,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great meal, great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Often go into the Spark for coffee and cake- service is always good, cake and coffee is excellent. Best coffee in town.
On Wednesday we went for a meal, deconstructed salads are fantastic, particularly black pudding and bacon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello 369 Pat,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - we're especially glad you enjoy our salad platters as they are our signature dishes, and that you like our coffee too.

Thanks again and best wishes,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have been drinking coffee at Sparks for a long while but only recently to eat. It was a really good experience to eat fresh interesting food. One friend is vegan and they were able to accommodate her as well as a vegetarian and myself a meat eater.

I have coffee regularly with a group of people the number of whom varies each week and the staff accommodate us with no fuss and good humour.

The coffee is good and the chocolate orange muffins are to die for! Definately my favourite coffee place in Lichfield and I recommend it to all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello pollyLichfield,

Thank you so much for your review - we love that we're your favourite place for coffee in Lichfield!

Thanks again and see you soon,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just returned from an evening in The Spark. If you want something a little different this cafe is worth a visit. It offers a good selection on the menu and something different from the usual jacket potato or standard baguette. Service is friendly and atmosphere is relaxing. Great to meet friends but you won't feel out of place if you pop in on your own for a coffee and reading the newspaper which I usually do just before going to the hairdressers. There is an option for a glass of wine whether that is mid day or in the evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello Sallyann8,

Thanks so much for your review - we're really pleased you feel we're the kind of place you can visit on your own as well as with friends.

Thanks again and best wishes,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spark Lichfield also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Spark Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spark Lichfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.