We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Lichfield!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spark Lichfield

The Spark Lichfield
19 Tamworth Street, Lichfield WS13 6JP, England (Formerly The Spark Cafe Bar and Restaurant)
01543898252
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 135 Restaurants in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, British, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: By day, The Spark is a continental cafe bar open for brunch, lunch and coffee. Come the weekend, we open the restaurant at night with an a la carte menu formal dining. Our chefs cook your dishes to order using quality ingredients from our local suppliers, giving us Taste of Staffordshire accreditation. Our drinks menu features wine from a local wine merchants, and espresso coffee sourced from an independent supplier. Whether you're visiting us for a pit-stop or enjoying a special dinner, we warmly welcome you to relax in our unique atmosphere.
Sutton Coldfield
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food in Lichfield!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

so fed up of disappointing restaurants decided to try the Spark on Fri night - what a GEM !!! beautiful food despite being busy , fantastic wine - ...they need to get rid of the sofas at the front though . loved the service - it felt genuine and that they cared that I was spending my hard earned cash there. Well done , I be back!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello Dymphna644,

Thanks for your review - we're happy to read you think our food is the best in Lichfield.

Best wishes and see you soon,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    38
    14
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Good little place but doesn’t shake off the feel of a caff totally”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

There are lots of cool little café places in Lichfield now and the majority seem to be aiming for the same sort of relaxed modern feel. The Spark does this pretty well with the spread of relaxing seats and nooks to sit and read papers, plus the food all seemed to come well presented on chopping boards or with some other rather cool aspect to it. I only had soup but it was nice and the other food going around looked good.

It isn’t the slickest place though. Service was a little bit overly familiar and “cheeky” for my personal tastes and they seemed slow to catch up from the Saturday lunchtime rush – when we ate there downstairs was still busy but the top floor was just emptying and almost all the tables were allowed to sit dirty for ages. When we cleared stuff off one onto another and asked for someone to wipe it they were happy to help, but it still felt weird to have all those long-vacant tables sitting with dirty plates and empty bottles.

The décor is a matter of “nearly” – it is a bit rough round the edges and isn’t always as warm, modern and cool as it might have liked. Still good though and would return again – seems to do lots of events too so may be worth a look for that at some point.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello bob_the_moo,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We’re pleased you enjoyed your food at The Spark.

We clearly remember the weekend you visited us as that weekend we were missing a key member of staff, which resulted in the ‘slow catch up’ you described. We can only apologise for the experience you had on that visit. One of the problems for small independent businesses such as ourselves is staffing. We’re a small team and when we lose members at crucially busy times it does affect us harder than other, bigger restaurants who can call on a larger staff base. Sorry once again and thanks for your feedback.

We’re glad that you would try us again and we’ll endeavour to leave you with a better experience for your next review!

With very best wishes,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and music to boot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

On a return from Ironbridge we decided to spend an afternoon in Lichfield. To conclude our trip we called in for a late lunch and had one of the best burgers ever with the added bonus of "Oxjam" - a series of musicians playing for the Oxfam charity.

The coffee was pretty good as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello NewHookies,

Thank you for your lovely review - we were so pleased to read what you thought of our burgers.

Best wishes and thanks again,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had to entertain some American guests, so for lunch we tried The Spark. The "assemble it yourself" Chicken Sald greatly impressed them as it included Anchovies, and our speciality sausages were excellent. Atmosphere relaxed, and the service enchanting by our waitress "Ariel". Much reccomended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello Bunker_Dude,

Thanks for taking the time to review. We hope to host you and your American guests again in the future.

Best wishes and thanks again,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“BEGS TO BE DIFFERENT - AND SUCCEEDS!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I, visiting Lichfield for the first time, booked a pre-theatre evening meal at the The Spark Cafe (Saturday 13th October 2012). The friendly and welcoming staff provided an interesting although slightly restricted menu. The food was first first class and could not be faulted. Mushroom starters, moroccan lamb as the main course and a rasberry pudding to die for. No chips, no burgers, no hassle - Ventures like this, which encourage like minded people (perhaps of a certain age) to share a cafe which offers good food at a reasonable price plus poetry, music, and numerous other interests and activities, must be applauded. We wish the owners every success....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello JazzJunky,

Thank you for your review. We were really pleased that, as a visitor to Lichfield, you took a chance on us for your evening meal, and that you enjoyed it! We enjoyed having you with us, and hope to see you again next time you're here.

With best wishes,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spark Lichfield also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Spark Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spark Lichfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.