We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Whittington Arms

The Whittington Arms
Tamworth Road | WS14 9PS, Lichfield, England
+44 1543 432340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 124 Restaurants in Lichfield
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sensitively restored and brimming with countryside charm, The Whittington Arms offers British pub hospitality. Mixing classic recipes and modern dishes, the menu is dictated by the seasons, with daily-changing specials also on offer. The bar is amply stocked with fine wines and smooth cask ales, and chunky wood furnishings and quirky décor make for a homely, relaxed ambience in the dining room. A menu just for kids offers fun yet nutritious choice for younger diners.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“All round good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Firstly to say we are in the trade so tend to pick on everything. Were last here 18 months ago and left not having to pay our bill as food was awfull.

Great change. Very friendly staff. Very good food. Oir only criticism were of personal nature . Great wine. And if they can keep the servics and standards constant then would recommend to all.

Good value remember people you get what you pay for and we got that.

Thanks to alk the staff for a good lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    71
    68
    56
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent service and quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Dropped in for Lunch with a friend, atmosphere very good in the bar area, comfy seating with a log fire.
Bar lunch menu, very good and tasty, excellent service....will be back.........

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armitage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Overally very good and would go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We went here for Sunday lunch and hadn't booked but there were plenty of tables. We sat at one near the bar so there wasn't waitress service and we had to get or own cutlery etc. The food was generally very good. We shared a starter of goats cheese and camembert which was fine for 4 people. The platter roast was excellent, the pulled beef pies quite nice however the salmon had lots of bones and the mash that came with it was quite clawing at the back of the throat. For dessert the chocolate and chilli torte was good as was the cherry crème brulee and the brownie however the "cookie and ice cream" was very much more "ice cream and cookie" as the cookie was tiny and served with a massive portion of ice cream. The drinks and wine choice was good and would definitely try going there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Business atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Only been here twice since it's been in new management. The menu has improved and the service, but I'd have to say it has a very business atmosphere. All in all a nice restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relaxed after work meal!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I came to The Whittington Arms to meet some friends after work. I've never been before but it's close by so we thought we'd give it a go.
We received a lovely warm welcome from someone behind the bar and got some drinks while we waited for the rest to join us.
The bar area was really cosy with big arm chairs and log fires burning.
The rest of the party joined us so we moved to the restaurant area.
I ordered the eggs Benedict to start and then the pulled beef suet pudding. This was the time I've had suet pudding and it was delicious. All of our food came quickly, but not too quickly and was nice and hot!
Overall It was really nice relaxed evening in a beautiful pub. The food was fantastic and the service was warm and friendly!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whittington Arms also viewed

Middleton, Warwickshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Whittington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whittington Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.