We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room too small for comfort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN George Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lichfield
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Room too small for comfort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had tried to book this hotel on a previous occasion, so was looking forward to our stay this time in the centre of this lovely town. Booking was made through booking.com and requested a quiet room as its located on a main street with several pubs and restaurants near by. Very pleasant hotel, warm and inviting bar area. Check in was efficient, but no information given with regard to breakfast or anything else for that matter. The public areas were clean and nicely furnished, however the room was very small and cramped, with a standard double bed which was rather soft and uncomfortable, but the room was overcrowed with furniture for the size, making it difficult to get around, especially in the dark! The decor was also quite dark which made it feel rather gloomy and overall claustrophobic. On the plus side, the restaurant was very pleasant, the staff were helpful and efficient, and the food was good. Fresh coffee was brought to the table along with toast, and a buffet selection was also available, and of a good standard.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quiter as its situated on a main street with several bars and res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for posting a review and for your kind comments. Please be assured all feedback is valuable to us as we continually strive to improve customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    123
    58
    16
    10
See reviews for
33
131
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Looked great when we walked in, old fashioned but charming. However when we were told our room was on the 2nd floor we asked for directions to the lift only to be told the lift only went to the first floor then we would have to walk. The receptionist did not seem concerned about this but luckily for us another member of staff overheard & said she would get someone to take our case up for us. The corridors were long & winding & very uneven beneath your feet!!! The room itself was a good size & comfortable. Decided to eat out in the evening so can't comment on the restaurant. The breakfast was a disappointment though - orange squash not fresh juice, no croissants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We are pleased that overall everything was to your satisfaction but please be assured the issues you raised will be used for future training. We hope you are able to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

An "old school" British hotel. Old fashioned but charming decor, with long winding corridors to the bedrooms. Pros: Bedrooms were comfortable and a reasonable size. Great water pressure in the shower. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Cons: Some of old-fashioned charm has its downsides, e.g. our bathroom was freezing and the old windows were not very soundproof - ask for a room away from the main street if you are staying at the weekend and want a quiet night as there is a noisy bar across the road. Breakfast was very average - you'll find something to eat but don't expect luxury (my particular gripe was orange squash instead of fresh juice). But, all in all, a good value and very welcoming hotel. Would recommend if you do find yourself in Lichfield.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

visited the hotel restaurant with a party of 20 people.reception staff extremely helpful informing us of special offers which would reduce the cost of the meal.even showed us how to print vouchers on the hotel computer.food was excellent,well cooked meat and good variety of veg
salad bar had good choices ,as did the sweet menu. service excellent ,all well organised and friendly.would recommend a visit to this hotel which has a great atmosphere and good public rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We are extremely pleased that you and your friends enjoyed all aspects of the carvery restaurant and that my staff provided a good standard of customer care. I do hope that you will able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. Breakfast today was cold and poor quality cheap bacon and sausage.
Don't bother with the carvery. I left mine as it had been handling around and vegetables were dried out and cold. The drink I ordered never turned up.
Learned my lessson - find somewhere else to eat as the restaurant food, quality and service is atrocious

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was most disturbed to be made aware of the issues you encountered in regards to food and service during your stay last night. Please be assured I will investigate each of the issues in turn and will put into place an action plan for my management team to solve any problems following your observations. On this occasion, we obviously did not achieve the level of customer care I expect. Having said this, I fully appreciate that any measures we may take subsequent to receiving your comments can be of little comfort and I therefore must offer my most sincere apologies for the annoyance and disappointment you were caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good standard hotel. Rooms are comfortable, lovely soft beds and clean and cosy.
Can be noisy with people staying up late in the bar otherwise a good location. Restaurant food good for two nights but then it is very repetitive but bar menu a good alternative. Nice staff and good service. A good option for the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was my third visit to The George. It remains very popular, largely on account of it’s location, which cannot be bettered in Lichfield, and the very accommodating staff. Equally the quirkiness of uneven floors, creaky floor boards and 1930s décor might be quaint for some, but overall the pluses struggle to offset the minus points. In particular the beds remain exceptionally uncomfortable with cheap non-pocket sprung mattresses that are not worthy of a large national chain and an antiquated heating system that is a joke.

On my most recent visit I was given a large well laid out room but it came with one of my pet hates – 2 single beds pushed together and masquerading as a double. Even if there is only one person in the bed it just feels wrong. On my previous visit, on one of the coldest nights of the year, there was no working heating system in the room save for the heated towel rail in the bathroom. It was decidedly chilly and no amount of pleading fixed the problem – I think because a number of other rooms had the same problem and the hotel had run out of portable heaters. They need a permanent and viable solution to the heating arrangements which, whilst in keeping with the old fashioned style of the hotel, are not adequate in this day and age.

To end on a couple more plusses; the breakfasts are great and excellent value if included in the room price. Also the street directly opposite the hotel hosts a wide range of restaurants so finding somewhere else to eat, if that is your wish, is not difficult.

There is no obvious alternative to the George in Lichfield and the location and free parking cannot be overlooked, but it is time the Best Western chain spent some money on this hotel because best it certainly is not.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations and that there were a number of negative issues with your stay. Please be assured we take all guest feedback very seriously and I apologise for any annoyance this may have caused. We are working to a programme of in house refurbishment and have replaced a 1/3 of all beds and mattress so far this year. We hope you will see an improvement if you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Address: Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN George Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your BEST WESTERN George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lichfield
Lichfield Best Western
BEST WESTERN George Hotel Lichfield, Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.