We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pity about noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The George Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“pity about noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

At first we thought great. Good value for money, easy to get to city, food excellent, roon clean and adequate for our needs, staff great. Everything fine until we wanted to sleep which I dont think was that early around midnight. The bed was too high, and when on was far too soft and 'used'. Noise from function room and noise from street - pub opposite kept us awake. Room was too warm for sleeping so we put on air conditioning which at least drowned the other noise. Didnt have a very good night at all. Spoilt weekend for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay with us. We are currently working alongside the local Council to try and alleviate the noise problems from the street and I apologise for the obvious annoyance this would have caused. Thank you for your positive comments on other apsects of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    166
    68
    20
    16
See reviews for
44
177
27
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

One night stay whilst moving a son into the area. Lovely staff, typical warmth of midland people! Very clean, spacious, comfortable room. Bathroom was immaculate and warm. Telly worked perfectly too. Bed was good...not excellent. Linen good quality. Parking is plentiful at the back...we were in a transit van.
Unfortunately as it was Saturday night and one of our windows looked down to a late night carousers cut through to a car park (?) my sleep was disturbed by one particularly revolting female. Room 14 on first floor. But....that's not the fault of this gentile and classis English hotel. Breakfast was a plentiful buffet and good quality food. We'd have eaten in the restaurant if our son had not wanted a curry! Bar menu looked OK. Restaurant had delicious smelling, and looking, carvery.
Will stay again without hesitation. Booked through ebookers. First time we to Lichfield and it feels like as setting in a Jane Austen novel! Loads of pubs!!! Lots of restaurants. Enough shops....parks ...cathedral. Liked very much!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We pride ourselves on having happy and friendly staff who strive to provide excellent customer service. It is pleasing to hear that they fulfilled your expections on this occasion. I do hope we are able to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Centrally located with private parking at the rear, The George is ideally located for a stay in the cathedral city of Lichfield.
A little tired, but the rooms are very clean and the breakfast includes excellent sauages. Tinned tomatoes and fried bread, especially appreciated :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Booked late but found the staff to be very helpful with my unusual storage request (sports equipment that I didn't want to leave on the roof of my car overnight). Room at front was fine if a little dated. Great central location. Nice breakfast too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Attend muder mystery dinner on Friday and stayed for 2 nights. I have food allergies and the staff were superb in ensuring i had excellent food that i could eat. It is an old building so it does have a few quirks, but that is part of its charm. Clenliness was faultless. Staff could not have been more helpfull. We will defintely looking at future events.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgraded room - Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about our murder mystery event. They are extremely popular with our guests and we hope you are able to attend another in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Due to motorway delays I was quite late checking in as part of a series of nights away for work. My room was on the second floor and certainly in need of modernisation.

The heater blows out aid with a hint of warmth, but makes the noise of the truck, there is an additional electric heater, but it's not up to the job of heating the whole room - not a great combination for a good night sleep. This doesn't fit with a hotel that is striving to care for the environment.

I ordered a room service dinner - the jacket was microwaved and looked like it had seen better days.

Not really what I expect in a BW hotel - next I will go for a mainstream chain hotel

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The George Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. I am extremely disappointed that your stay did not live up to your expectations and I apologise for the frustration and annoyance this must have caused. Please be assured your comments have been discussed with my management team to solve such problems in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Had a special birthday party in the Garrick suite for 75 guests, the room was well laid out with a small stage as requested, starter served at the table followed by a hot buffet, couldnt have asked for better quality and choice. A number of guests stayed the night and they all commented on the quality of the rooms and especially the breakfast. Many thanks to Phil and his staff for , nothing was to much trouble for them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The George Hotel

Address: Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lichfield
Lichfield Best Western
BEST WESTERN The George Hotel Lichfield, Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.