We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only all hotels were like this one!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN George Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lichfield
Epping, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“If only all hotels were like this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

This was such a pleasant stay in so many ways. The staff were very customer focused - friendly, efficient, professional and what's more they genuinely seemed to be enjoying their job. There aren't many hotels that could boast that, a real sign of good management. The room was lovely, very well furnished with all the facilities I needed. Very good quality breakfast. There really is very little else I could ask for. Yes it's old and creaky, but that just adds to the charm!
There are so many other hotels that could learn a thing or two from this one, especially their exceptional customer service levels. They really have got it spot on. I've gone through a spate of staying at some right shockers recently so it was such a wonderful relief to stay somewhere so mice! Many thanks to all the staff at the Best Western George Hotel. You made my stay very pleasant and I shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    124
    58
    16
    10
See reviews for
33
133
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

There are few better locations Lichfield and the addition of its own car park to the rear of the hotel coupled with the cheap rates make this an attractive option. As hotels go it delivers on the basics, but is tired and no amount of enthusiasm from the staff can make up for that. The rooms were fine with the exception of the beds which should have been condemned years ago, they are not pocket sprung and not comfortable. In some rooms the heating is questionable. However, the hotel still manages to exude an element of charm and the staff are very cheery. The breakfast was excellent (with the exception of the coffee) but the choice of wines by the glass in the bar was appalling,you would do better in a local pub.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a most enjoyable weekend stay at The George. This was our first time at this hotel and in Lichfield. The best things about this hotel are the friendly, helpful and professional staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them.This includes the receptionists, dining staff, bar staff and cleaners. The hotel is centrally located for restaurants, pubs, bars and close to the shops and cathedral. Once you have parked your car you can walk everywhere. We asked for a room in a quiet location which is exactly what we got. Room 37 is located on the first floor and at the side of the hotel. Rooms at the front face the street and get the noise from people passing by and traffic.If you are a light sleeper request a room in a quiet location on booking. We did not eat in the hotel in the evenings but the breakfasts were very good with wonderful Packington pork sausages. The ladies toilets have been refurbished and are stylish and elegant in pale colours and huge wash basins.
Although homely, parts of the hotel need updating eg anaglypta wallpaper in our bedroom and dated soft furnishings. However, the bedding was fresh and clean cotton and the towels were soft and fluffy.
I would certainly stay at this hotel again when visiting this area. Lichfield is a charming historical town with many period properties and a wealth of eating places and individual shops in the town. I hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side of the hotel are quieter if you want a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I had a trip to The Garrick Theatre and decided to stay at the George. I would have been more than happy to recommend this hotel, however when we arrived home I noticed that my husband had left his toiletries bag at the hotel containing a nearly full bottle of expensive eau de toilette, shaving cream etc. I called the hotel who confirmed that they had found it and asked if they would be kind enough to post it to me if I paid the postage. After several more phone calls it arrived, albeit 11 days after my initial call. To my dismay when I looked in the bag everything was there apart from the eau de toilette. I called and spoke to the Manager who said he would speak to housekeeping and get back to me the next day. Once again they failed to contact me and when I called back the Manager said that no one had seen the bottle and there was nothing he could do about it. So if you are thinking of staying at the George make sure there is a safe in the room. It was the sheer arrogance and lack of sympathy expressed by the management that I find upsetting., Needless to say we will sadly not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

At last we have found a venue that can deliver a decent sunday lunch. O.k. so we have to go back to 1970..soup or hors d'ouevres, (egg mayo, pate, potato salad etc) followed by a very good roast lunch with plenty of freshly cooked veg and a decent meaty gravy. Sweets are typical of the decade, icecream, crumble or profiteriles. Who cares? It was flippin' tasty, meat was tender, roasties crispy and tasted of beef dripping and we loved the old style service of bread roll and butter arriving in a basket and coffee and mints in the lounge. Don't change...WE LOVED IT!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I regularly travel and stay in and around Lichfield and Staffs, so I booked into the George for my first time this week. After a recent horrific stay in a London hotel, I was kind of thinking maybe I should go for a chain hotel to be safe?

Well I'm so glad I didn't, the George is warm, friendly, and just like a home from home. Its got loads of character to the inside, the rooms even though very much in keeping with the character of the hotel are clean and not as out of date as some places I have stayed.

The bed was so comfortable, and really clean and fresh bedding, I slept like a log!!

The staff were friendly, the other residents were also very friendly, and breakfast in the morning was really good.

In all this is a great hotel, with a family feel to it, and I will be staying with them again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My Husband & I booked this hotel via a special deal for an over night stay for two people, with a carvery meal and breakfast as a short break get-away.
Because I have dairy & wheat allergies, it was important that we alert them as we always do so they can have something available for me to eat..espcially as it's a carvery.
The room was old fashioned, but a lovely, clean, quite and airy space for us.
We were more than happy with the facilities.

On arrival, we mentioned my allergies and the receptionist said they were aware and the chef had been allerted. When we went to eat, the waitress said they were aware and they could cater for me.

I had a fruit & melon started, which was specially prepared for me. very pleasent
I then had trout and freshly prepared vegatables.
As the deserts were all puddings and cakes, I decided not to have anything, although they did offer me fruit salad again!
However, the waitress then came out to state that the chef had found some dairy free icecream and would I like to have that.
I was impressed and tucked in... I got to my third scoop, the kitchen staff ran out and asked me to stop eating.
I was mortified, has was my husband who called for the manager straight away.
I started feeling very ill almost immediately and was poorly all night and the next morning.

I have to say that they apologised and offered us reimbursment.

But be mindful of human error!

Room Tip: I do recommend the venue for a more mature guest and as a fab location to explore the beautiful city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Address: Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN George Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lichfield
Lichfield Best Western
BEST WESTERN George Hotel Lichfield, Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.